We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE

NHL players react to tragedy on Twitter

Wednesday, 09.07.2011 / 2:36 PM / News

NHL.com

Share with your Friends


NHL players react to tragedy on Twitter
As news of the plane crash in Russia emerged Wednesday, NHL players sent messages of sympathy and shock.
As news of the plane crash in Russia emerged Wednesday, NHL players sent messages of sympathy and shock: Here are some of the many outpourings from the Twitter universe:

Alex Ovechkin (@ovi8), Washington Capitals:
I'm in shock!!!!! R.I.P.

Ochen tiajelo teriat blizkix i dryzey!pyst czemlia bydet im pyxom!vi na vsegda v nashey pamiati!
(approximate translation: "Very hard to lose close people and friends! Let them rest in peace! You will remain forever in our memory!")

Marian Gaborik (@MGaborik10), New York Rangers:
Demo,u will always b in my heart.U were one of my best friends on and off the ice.U will be greatly missed by all of us.My condolences...

Ilya Bryzgalov (@bryzgoalie30), Philadelphia Flyers:
R.I.P.#Lokomotiv #Ярославль (con't) My deepest condolences go to families and friends of Lokomotiv. My thoughts and prayers are with wives, childrens and parents of victims... Я не могу поверить,шок,хочется проснуться

Bobby Ryan (@b_ryan9), Anaheim Ducks:
I can't believe I'm writing another one. Thoughts and prayers to everyone affected by the KHL plane crash. Too many players gone this year.

Brandon Prust (@BrandonPrust8), New York Rangers:
The hockey world mourns yet again. Please God, we can't take much more.. Thoughts and prayers in Russia and to all friends and family.

Matt Carle (@mattcarle25), Philadelphia Flyers:
Still can't believe the tragedy that occurred in Russia...deepest sympathies to the players, coaches, and families involved #prayers #RIP

Mike Commodore  (@commie22), Detroit Red Wings:
Another devastating day in hockey world. Tragic news out of KHL. Thoughts and prayers to everyone involved. Don't know what else to say.

David Moss (@djmoss25), Calgary Flames:
Thoughts and prayers to the families of those who lost someone in the KHL plane crash, terrible summer for the hockey world

Victor Hedman (@heds77), Tampa Bay Lightning:
My thoughts and prayers goes out to all the families of the players and staff in Lokomotiv... #wordsarenotenough

Ryan Jones (@jonesry28), Edmonton Oilers:

Can't believe what is happening this summer...Thoughts and prayers to the families and friends of the Lokomotiv team

Steve Sullivan (@sullivan26), Pittsburgh Penguins:
Another sad day in the hockey world. Thoughts and prayers to those affected by today's tragic plane crash.

Curtis Sanford (@curtissandford):
Another tragedy for the hockey world to deal with. Absolutely heartbreaking. Thoughts and prayers for family and friends of all.

Devin Setoguchi (@dsetoguchi10), Minnesota Wild:
No words can describe this tragedy today... Thoughts and prayers to the families and friends #saddayforhockey

Andrew Ladd (@aladd16), Winnipeg Jets:
RIP Joe Vasicek One of the nicest guys I've played with and always came to the rink with a smile on his face. Gone too soon #canes2006

Tyler Bozak (@bozie42), Toronto Maple Leafs:
Thoughts and prayers to the families and friends of those involved in the tragic accident in the KHL today.

Martin Havlat (@martinhavlat), San Jose Sharks:
I haven't tweeted in a long time but want to speak today. To all the families of the Yaroslavl players, coaches and to the families of my good friends Josef Vasicek, Jan Marek and Karel Rachunek I send out my condolences and sympathies. You will never be forgotten.

Zac Dalpe (@zacdalpe22), Carolina Hurricanes:
Another sad day for the hockey world. Prayers go out to everyone involved in the KHL plane crash.

Matt Calvert (@mattcalvert11), Columbus Blue Jackets:
Very sad to hear about the plane crash. Thoughts and prayers are with the families.

Mathieu Darche (@matdarche52), Montreal Canadiens:
Horrible tragedy!!! Thoughts with families. Enough hockey tragedy this summer.

Michael Grabner (@grabs40), New York Islanders:
Another terrible tragedy and loss to the hockey world-thoughts and prayers go out to all the families..makes my body shake thinking bout it

James van Riemsdyk (@jvreemer21), Philadelphia Flyers:
Terrible to hear about what happened in Russia, thoughts and prayers go out to the families.

Kevin Shattenkirk (@shattdeuces), St. Louis Blues:
Another tragedy in hockey today with the Plane crash in Russia.. My heart goes out to all of the families and friends. (con't) Hockey lost a great legend in Demitra.. Remember watching him play a few months ago at Worlds, #anothersaddayforhockey

Carl Gunnarsson (@carl_gun), Toronto Maple Leafs:
Unbelievable! Can't get what happened in Russia. Thinking of all the families and friends. So tragic

Andrew Ladd (@aladd16), Winnipeg Jets:
Still in shock about the news out of Russia. Thoughts and prayers go out to the families and friends of everyone on the plane.

RJ Umberger (@umby18), Columbus Blue Jackets
I am sickened over the plane crash of the #KHL hockey team.. this has been an awful summer for hockey. #RIP

Taylor Hall (@hallsy6), Edmonton Oilers:
What an awful summer for hockey. Thoughts and prayers with the families and friends of everyone on that flight

Ryane Clowe (@ryaneclowe29), San Jose Sharks:
Hearing the tragic news about the Russian plane crash almost brought me to my knees.. So so sad and unfair. Prayers go out to all the families.

Max Talbot (@max25talbot), Philadelphia Flyers
Thoughts and prayers to the KHL team and their families. I'm in shock.

Evander Kane (@ekane9jets), Winnipeg Jets
Can't believe what has happen with the KHL plane crash. Thoughts are with the players families and friends.

Eric Fehr (@ericfehr), Winnipeg Jets:
Terrible news out of Russia today. Prayers to all the family and friends involved! #KHL

Martin Biron (@martybiron43), New York Rangers:
Way to many players and families affected with tragic events this summer. Thoughts and prayers go out to this KHL team and their families.

John Carlson (@johncarlson74), Washington Capitals:
Gloomy day in DC and even worse news in Russia. Prayers to all the family/friends associated today. #KHL

Magnus Paajarvi (@mps_91), Edmonton Oilers:
Cannot believe it … thoughts for all the families around…

Logan Couture (@logancouture), San Jose Sharks:
Heartbreaking summer for hockey. Thoughts to everyone affected by these terrible, sad events.

Matt Duchene (@Matt9Duchene), Colorado Avalanche:
R.I.P. Rusty Salei. Was always real good to me. Thoughts and prayers go out to his family and all the other Locomotiv players families.

Nate Thompson (@natethompson44), Tampa Bay Lightning:
Tragic loss for the hockey world. Plane crash with an entire KHL team on board. Thoughts and prayers go out to there families and friends.

Ryan Shannon (@ryanshannon22), Tampa Bay Lightning:
A sad day. Thoughts and prayers go out to all those affected by the KHL plane crash.

Brent Sopel (@brentsopel), Metallurg of KHL:
In shock. Prayers out to all of the KHL families.

Ryan Whitney (@ryanwhitney6), Edmonton Oilers:
Terrible news of the plane crash carrying an entire KHL team. Thoughts and prayers go out to all families involved.

Matt Moulson (@MMoulson), New York Islanders:
At a loss for words in expressing my true sadness for all the players/staff and families involved in tragedy overseas

Steven Kampfer (@stevekampfer47), Boston Bruins:
Awful news to hear about when getting off the ice today. Thoughts and prayers go out to all of those players families and friends.

Mike Rupp (@rupper17), New York Rangers:
Absolutely disturbing news out of Russia (KHL)... Heartfelt prayers to all affected!

Scottie Upshall (@scottieupshall), Florida Panthers:
Very sad news this morning in Russia - plane carrying KHL team Lokomotiv crashes. Our condolences go out 2 all victims families and friends.

Brett Connolly (@bconnolly8), Tampa Bay Lightning:
Thoughts and prayers are with the Russian team and families #Lokomotiv

Jack Skille (@jackskille), Florida Panthers:
Prayers go out to the players and family's involved with the KHL plane crash. #RIP #sosad


Quote of the Day

One player does not make your team. One player can help your team, but one player does not make your team. We're not a bare-bones organization.

— Columbus Blue Jackets president John Davidson
Yahoo Sports Fantasy Hockey