Share with your Friends

Yanakeff replaces injured Carruth at U.S. camp

Friday, 08.05.2011 / 12:17 PM / 2012 World Junior Championship

By Adam Kimelman - Deputy Managing Editor

Share with your Friends

Yanakeff replaces injured Carruth at U.S. camp
Michigan State goaltender Will Yanakeff will replace Mac Carruth (injury) at the U.S. national junior evaluation camp, which begins Saturday in Lake Placid, N.Y.
USA Hockey announced Friday that Michigan State goaltender Will Yanakeff will join 43 other players at the national junior evaluation camp, which begins Saturday in Lake Placid, N.Y.

Yanakeff will replace Mac Carruth, who will be unable to participate due to injury.

As a freshman at Michigan State last season, Yanakeff went 6-5-1 with two shutouts in 14 games. He finished eighth in the NCAA with a 2.11 goals-against average and fifth with a .927 save percentage.

After going unselected in June's draft, he remains eligible for the 2012 Entry Draft.

The junior evaluation camp, which runs Aug. 6-13, serves as the first chance for coach Dean Blais and the USA Hockey staff to evaluate players for the 2012 World Junior Championship, to be held Dec. 26 to Jan. 5 in Edmonton and Calgary.

Twenty NHL teams will have at least one prospect at the camp, with three teams -- the Chicago Blackhawks, Los Angeles Kings and Florida Panthers -- being represented by four prospects each.

The two youngest players invited were Fargo Force defenseman Brian Cooper, who is eligible for the 2012 Draft, and U.S. National Team Development Program defenseman Seth Jones, who won't be draft-eligible until 2013.

This year's camp will feature intrasquad scrimmages, as well as exhibition games against Finland and Sweden.

Contact Adam Kimelman at Follow him on Twitter: @NHLAdamK


GOALIES -- Jack Campbell (Stars), John Gibson (Ducks), Andy Iles, Will Yanakeff.

DEFENSEMEN -- Adam Clendening (Blackhawks), Brian Cooper (2012 draft eligible), Justin Faulk (Hurricanes), Derek Forbort (Kings), Kevin Gravel (Kings), Justin Holl (Blackhawks), Stephen Johns (Blackhawks), Seth Jones (2013 draft eligible), Austin Levi (Hurricanes), Scott Mayfield (Islanders), Jonathon Merrill (Devils), Connor Murphy (Coyotes), Robbie Russo (Islanders), Jared Tinordi (Canadiens).

FORWARDS -- Kenny Agostino (Penguins), Bill Arnold (Flames), Chase Balisy (Predators), Tyler Biggs (Maple Leafs), Nick Bjugstad (Panthers), Reid Boucher (Devils), Connor Brickley (Panthers), Charlie Coyle (Wild); Emerson Etem (Ducks), Brian Ferlin (Bruins), Rocco Grimaldi (Panthers), Kevin Hayes (Blackhawks), Jared Knight (Bruins); Phil Lane (Coyotes), Shane McColgan (Rangers),  Michael Mersch (Kings), Jonathan Miller (Rangers), Matthew Nieto (Sharks), Stefan Noesen (Senators), Shane Prince (Senators), Bryan Rust (Penguins), Nicholas Shore (Kings), Vincent Trocheck (Panthers), Thomas Tynan (Blue Jackets), Austin Watson (Predators), Jason Zucker (Wild).

Quote of the Day

[Stamkos] is a great teammate and a great leader, that's why he's got the 'C'. He brings that tremendous work ethic to the rink and he's one of the top players in the game. I know if I put the passes where they are supposed to be, there's a very good chance he's going to put it in the back of the net.

— Lightning forward Jonathan Drouin on linemate Steven Samkos
  • 5:00 ET:  NHL Live Powered by Constellation
    7:00 ET:  NHL Tonight Western Conf. Preview
    8:00 ET:  2015 Blackhawks Championship Film
World Cup of Hockey ticket info