SAN JOSE, Calif. --
Ask the coaches and Jamie McGinn
got exactly what he deserved for his hit from behind on Aaron Rome
late in the third period.
"I had a chance to watch it on the video," Sharks coach Todd McLellan
said. "Referees probably made the right call on the ice, there's no doubt about it. I don't think there was any intent on Jamie's behalf. We hope that Rome is healthy. We don't want to see that happen to anybody. That could very easily be one of our players in that situation."
"If I was Aaron Rome
, I'd be upset right now," Canucks coach Alain Vigneault
said. "But I know that they got the right call on the ice."
Ask Sharks players and the reaction is a bit different.
"To be honest with you, I hate seeing somebody hurt," defenseman Douglas Murray
said. "But I get hit like that 10 times a game. I just don't know anymore what's a penalty or not. I get hit like that all the time."
McGinn, who was playing for the first time since Game 6 against the Detroit Red Wings
last round, received a five-minute major for boarding and a game misconduct with 8:38 left in the third period after hitting Rome from behind. Rome took a pass behind the net from goaltender Roberto Luongo
and moved the puck behind the net before absorbing the hit.
Rome crumbled to the ice and had to be helped to his skates as blood leaked out of his face. McGinn could face a suspension for the hit, something that he seemed to consider an inevitability after the game.
"I finish my checks. I'm not trying to hurt anybody," McGinn said. "It's unfortunate he got hurt. I tried to cut him off. I thought I got him on the shoulder.
"It's tough. I got into the lineup tonight and thought I was doing a good job. Having to go right back upstairs kind of sucks. I'm glad the boys got the win."
The Canucks used the five-minute power play to cut the Sharks' lead from 4-1 to 4-3. McGinn watched the power play from the weight room, pacing back and forth while hoping his hit didn't cost his team the game.
It's the second major penalty of the postseason for McGinn, who was ejected from Game 6 of the first round against the Los Angeles Kings
for a charging penalty but is not subjected to an automatic suspension for Friday night's infraction.
Follow Dave Lozo on Twitter: @DaveLozo