Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword
Round 2
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final

10 finalists named for Hobey Baker Award

Thursday, 03.17.2011 / 11:30 PM / On Campus


Three players selected in the NHL Draft are among the 10 finalists for the 2011 Hobey Baker Award.

The award, presented annually to the best player among the 58 NCAA Division I teams, will be presented April 8 at Xcel Energy Center, during the NCAA Frozen Four.

Among the finalists are Boston College right wing Cam Atkinson, a 2008 sixth-round pick of the Columbus Blue Jackets; Maine center Gustav Nyquist, a 2008 fourth-round pick of the Detroit Red Wings; and Wisconsin defenseman Justin Schultz, a 2008 second-round choice of the Anaheim Ducks.

Schultz's 18 goals are the most by a college defenseman in eight years, and his 47 points are six more than the next highest-scoring collegiate blueliner.

Atkinson led the Eagles and was third in the NCAA with 28 goals, and also scored a team-best 48 points in 36 games.

Nyquist, a finalist for last season's award, leads Maine with 51 points in 36 games. He's fourth in the NCAA with 33 assists.

Other finalists are Miami forwards Carter Camper and Andy Miele, Minnesota-Duluth forward Jack Connolly, North Dakota forward Matt Frattin, RPI forward Chase Polacek, New Hampshire forward Paul Thompson and Niagara forward Paul Zanette.

The 10 finalists were selected by voting from all 58 Division I college hockey head coaches and by online fan balloting at Hobeybakeraward.com. The 23-member Selection Committee and an additional round of fan balloting (at Hobeybakeraward.com from March 18-27) will determine this year's Hobey Baker winner.

Criteria for the award include: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

Once again, it shows character in this dressing room. Once again, there's no quitting in here. We all wanted this so bad and we worked so hard to get home-ice advantage and we weren't going to let this one slide.

— Colorado Avalanche captain Gabriel Landeskog on his team's OT Game 1 win vs. Minnesota Wild