Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword
2014 NHL Draft

Hall and Seguin share Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy as OHL scoring champs

Tuesday, 03.16.2010 / 7:05 PM / News

The Canadian Press

TORONTO - Leading 2010 draft prospects Taylor Hall and Tyler Seguin are co-winners of the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy as scoring champion in one of four honours handed out by the Ontario Hockey League on Tuesday.

Hall, of the Windsor Spitfires, and Seguin, of the Plymouth Whalers, tied for the lead in scoring with 106 points each, marking just the third time in league history and first since 1973-74 that the award was shared.

Hall scored 40 goals with 66 assists in 57 games while Seguin had 48 goals with 58 assists in 63 games.

Taylor Beck of the Guelph Storm received the Jim Mahon Memorial Trophy as the top scoring right-winger, finishing with 39 goals and 54 assists in 61 games.

Chris Carrozzi and J.P. Anderson of the Mississauga St. Michael's Majors share the Dave Pinkney Trophy for the lowest team goals against with 175.

Petr Mrazek of the Ottawa 67's won the F.W. (Dinty) Moore Trophy for the best rookie goals-against average at 3.00.

Quote of the Day

Not only is it a great idea, but if you don't [start using analytics] you're going to fall behind. You have to be on the cutting edge. It was [Arizona Coyotes assistant general manager] Darcy Regier who said, 'If you didn't invent it, you have to be the second- or third-best copier, because if you're fourth or fifth you've got no chance.'

— Detroit Red Wings coach Mike Babcock on his interest in advanced statistical analysis