Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
2014 NHL Draft
SHARE

NHL Network leaps into February with ten live games in the U.S.

Tuesday, 01.29.2008 / 5:15 PM / News

By Compiled By - NHL.com Staff

NEW YORK -- NHL Network today unveiled a package of ten live regular-season games that will be telecast to viewers in the U.S. for the month of February featuring two doubleheaders, matchups with playoff implications and the defending Stanley Cup champion Anaheim Ducks. All live NHL games on NHL Network are televised in high-definition on the full-time HD feed (all games subject to local blackout).

The month gets started with the Vancouver Canucks and star goaltender Roberto Luongo playing in Florida against the Panthers Feb. 1 at 7:30 p.m. ET. The game marks Luongo’s first visit to Florida since being traded by the franchise to Vancouver in June of 2006.

Western Conference contenders face off on NHL Network when the Dallas Stars travel to Anaheim to face the Ducks on the back end of a network doubleheader on Friday, Feb. 15. The first game of the night features Florida hosting high-scoring Alex Ovechkin and the Washington Capitals at 7:30 p.m. ET. The Panthers once again play host to the first game of an NHL Network twinbill on Wednesday, Feb. 27, when they host the Toronto Maple Leafs. In the second game that evening, the Colorado Avalanche visit Vancouver. The Capitals, Panthers and Maple Leafs each make three appearances on NHL Network in the U.S. in the month of February.

NHL Network’s flagship show, NHL On The Fly, airs nightly throughout the season and features up-to-the minute hockey information, live look-ins, extended highlights, overtime shootouts, real-time scores, interviews, pre- and post-game reports and news conferences. In all, NHL Network in the U.S. will telecast 50 live regular-season games this season, in addition to classic games, documentaries, instructional shows, highlights and more. Based on previously-announced carriage arrangements with Cablevision, Comcast, Cox Communications, Charter, DIRECTV, DISH Network, Time Warner Cable and others, NHL Network is accessible to 80 million homes.

February 2008 NHL Network U.S. Game Telecast Schedule:

Fri, Feb. 1 Vancouver @ Florida 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT
Wed, Feb. 6     Washington @ Philadelphia 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT
Fri, Feb. 8 Columbus @ San Jose 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT
Wed, Feb. 13    Toronto @ Buffalo 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT
Fri, Feb. 15 Washington @ Florida 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT
Fri, Feb. 15 Dallas @ Anaheim 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT
Wed, Feb. 20  N.Y. Islanders @ Washington 7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT
Wed, Feb. 27 Toronto @ Florida 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT
Wed, Feb. 27 Colorado @ Vancouver 10:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. PT
Fri, Feb. 29  Toronto @ Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT



Quote of the Day

What we expected is what we got. Very mature young individual that's focused. He is on the right track. He's not only a great hockey individual, but he's a good person off the ice. He seemed to take a leadership role with this group right off the hop and ran away with it, and was vocal, was respectful, was everything it takes to be a Panther. His future looks bright.

— Florida Panthers director of player development Brian Skrudland on defenseman Aaron Ekblad's performance at development camp