We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.

Red Wings' Kronwall sidelined with concussion

Friday, 10.18.2013 / 1:05 AM
Rick Sadowski  -  NHL.com Correspondent

DENVER -- Detroit Red Wings defenseman Niklas Kronwall sustained a concussion and cuts to his right ear on a hit from behind by Colorado Avalanche left wing Cody McLeod at 2:13 of the first period Thursday night at Pepsi Center.

The Red Wings announced that Kronwall has movement and feeling in his extremities and was being treated in their locker room. The team said he will not be transported to a hospital.

Kronwall was attempting to control the puck in the left corner of the Red Wings' zone when McLeod skated in hard and slammed him into the boards.

Kronwall fell to the ice and was placed on a backboard and wheeled into the Red Wings' locker room.

McLeod was assessed a major boarding penalty and a game misconduct.

"I think [Friday] we've got to see how he feels," Red Wings general manager Ken Holland said. "He talked to the doctor. He's alert. Let's get to [Friday] morning. Let's see how he's doing.

"He obviously hit his head. He hasn't gone to the hospital. I went down to the locker room and he was talking to the doctor. He was being evaluated. He was going through the sequence of events."

NHL Director of Player Safety Brendan Shanahan will determine whether McLeod will be suspended.

"I don't know," Red Wings coach Mike Babcock said when asked about the hit. "The good thing about that is they pay Shanny to figure that out, not me.

"(Kronwall) will be evaluated, obviously. Tough situation for him. Anytime you get hit like that, you're out cold. He's doing pretty well. Obviously, when you see that and see a guy knocked out on the ice, you're scared to say the least."

Avalanche coach Patrick Roy said he hadn't yet seen a replay of the hit.

"I didn't look at it because I didn't want to look at it," he said. "I didn't want to make a comment on it, but from the bench, I thought that Kronwall turned his back at the last minute. Does that make it a dirty hit or not? I guess Shanahan is going to have to make the decision."

Back to top