USA Hockey announces prospect game rosters

Tuesday, 09.17.2013 / 12:53 PM

USA Hockey on Tuesday announced the rosters for the teams competing in the second annual CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game on Sept. 26 at Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh.

While all 40 players participating in the game are eligible for the 2014 NHL Draft in Philadelphia, there are currently 28 listed on NHL Central Scouting's Futures List as a potential first-, second-, or third-round draft choice. Nine players are currently starring for the United States Under-18 National Team Development Program in the United States Hockey League, forwards Anders Bjork, Jared Fiegl, Dylan Larkin, Sonny Milano and Alex Tuch, defensemen Ryan Collins, Jack Glover and Jonathan MacLeod, and goalie Blake Weyrick.

Mark Johnson and Joe Mullen, both former members of the NHL's Pittsburgh Penguins, will each coach a team. The game will feature two players from Pennsylvania, Philadelphia's Tony DeAngelo (Sarnia Sting, Ontario Hockey League) on defense and Wind Gap native Ed Minney (National Team Development Program, United States Hockey League) in goal. Both players will star for Team Mullen.

"This event has quickly grown into a great opportunity for America's best young players to showcase their skills at a national level," said Jim Johannson, USA Hockey's assistant executive director of hockey operations. "The Pittsburgh Penguins have been a terrific partner in putting on this game, which will feature the future stars of the NHL."

There will be three players representing the 2013 USHL Clark Cup champion Dubuque Fighting Saints, forwards Seamus Malone and Shane Eiserman and defenseman Keegan Ford. A total of 26 players participating are currently playing in the USHL.

Danton Cole and John Gruden of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program will serve as assistant coaches.

Team Johnson

Goalies -- Blake Weyrick, USNTDP (USHL); Thatcher Demko, Boston College (Hockey East).

Defensemen -- Louis Belpedio, USNTDP (USHL); Ryan Bliss, USNTDP (USHL); Jack Glover, USNTDP (USHL); Aaron Haydon, Niagara IceDogs (OHL); Jonathan MacLeod, USNTDP (USHL); Ryan Mantha, Sioux City Musketeers (USHL).

Forwards -- Chase DeLeo, Portland Winterhawks (WHL); Shane Eiserman, Dubuque Fighting Saints (USHL); Jared Fiegl, USNTDP (USHL); Ryan Hitchcock, USNTDP (USHL); Keegan Iverson, Portland Winterhawks (WHL); Kevin Labanc, Barrie Colts (OHL); Dylan Larkin, USNTDP (USHL); Sonny Milano, USNTDP (USHL); Nick Schmaltz, Green Bay Gamblers (USHL); Nolan Stevens, USNTDP (USHL); Alex Tuch, USNTDP (USHL); Michael Turner, Cushing Academy (USHL).

Team Mullen

Goalies -- Ed Minney, USNTDP (USHL); Alex Nedeljkovic, Plymouth Whalers (OHL).

Defensemen -- Ryan Collins, USNTDP (USHL); Tony DeAngelo, Sarnia Sting (OHL); Jack Dougherty, USNTDP (USHL); Keegan Ford, USNTDP (USHL); Josh Jacobs, Indiana Ice (USHL); Hunter Warner, Waterloo Black Hawks (USHL).

Forwards -- Greg Betzold, Peterborough Petes (OHL); Anders Bjork, USNTDP (USHL); Connor Chatham, Plymouth Whalers (OHL); Blake Clarke, North Bay Battalion (OHL); Shane Gersich, USNTDP (USHL); Ryan MacInnis, Kitchener Rangers (OHL); Seamus Malone, Dubuque Fighting Saints (USHL); Austin Poganski, Tri-City Storm (USHL); Jack Ramsey, Penticton Vees (BCHL); Tyler Sheehy, Waterloo Black Hawks (USHL); Joe Wegwerth, USNTDP (USHL); *Ryan Donato, Dexter School (High-MA).

* Injury replacement for Dominic Turgeon (Portland, WHL)

Back to top