The GM (General Manager) of the year award is awarded annually to the top NHL GM voted by a 40-member panel that included all 30 general managers, five NHL executives and five media members.
The GM award was first envisioned by Toronto GM Brian Burke in 1993 when he was Senior Vice President and Director of Hockey Operations for the NHL
2014-2015 Steve Yzerman Lightning
2013-2014 Bob Murray Ducks
2012-2013 Ray Shero Penguins
2011-2012 Doug Armstrong Blues
2010-2011 Mike Gillis Canucks
2009-2010 Don Maloney Coyotes