SHARE
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final

PHI @ PIT - 15:18 of the Third Period

Sunday, 04.01.2012 / 3:07 PM
2011-2012 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2011-2012 Situation Room blog
PHI @ PIT - 15:18 of the Third Period


At 15:18 of the third period in the Penguins/Flyers, video review conclusively determined that Steve Sullivan's shot crossed the goal line. The penalty on the Flyers that was to be called is negated because according to rule 78.6 "any penalties signaled during the period of time between the apparent goal and the next stoppage of play shall be assessed in the normal manner, except when a minor penalty is to be assessed to the team scored upon, and is therefore nullified by the scoring of the goal". Good Goal Pittsburgh and No Penalty on Philadelphia.
Quote of the Day

That was something I've been dreaming of, something I've told myself before the third period I was going to do ... It was an amazing feeling. It's hard to describe. I didn't believe it went in at first but when I saw all the reaction and all the fans going crazy and my teammates going crazy, it's just an unbelievable feeling. I didn't know what to do. I didn't know whether to jump or just skate and do a Theo Fleury. I don't think I'm the same caliber player he is so I couldn't do it.

— Flames forward Mikael Backlund on scoring the overtime winner against the Ducks in Gm. 3