We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE

OTT @ TBL - 5:44 of the Third Period

Monday, 03.24.2014 / 9:55 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
OTT @ TBL - 5:44 of the Third Period

At 5:44 of the third period in the Ottawa Senators/Tampa Bay Lightning game, video review supported the referee's group decision on the ice that Steven Stamkos' stick was below the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Ottawa net. Initially, the referee closest to the net had waved off the goal, but after consultation with the other officials it was determined that Stamkos' stick was in fact below the level of the crossbar. Video review supported that group decision. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Tampa Bay.

Quote of the Day

It's pretty crazy, but believe me when I say we didn't draft these players with the mindset we had to because they had good hockey-playing dads. It just turned out that way. But we're certainly glad they're a part of our organization.

— Arizona Coyotes director of amateur scouting Tim Bernhardt regarding the coincidence that six of the organization's top prospects are sons of former NHL players