We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE

ANA @ SJS - 5:06 of the Third Period

Monday, 12.30.2013 / 12:44 AM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog

At 5:06 of the third period in the Ducks/Sharks game, the Situation Room initiated video review because the puck entered the San Jose net. The referee informed the situation room that he had blown his whistle to stop play prior to the puck entering the net, therefore this is not a reviewable play. According to Rule 78.5 (xii) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when the referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." No goal Anaheim.

Quote of the Day

You don't see many. The [Drew] Doughtys, the [P.K.] Subbans, those are guys that create offense from the back and then on top of that ability, the size that he has. In the West you play against some pretty big players, and being able to clear the crease and contain the [Ryan] Getzlafs and the [Corey] Perrys and [Anze] Kopitars and players like that, we're excited about him going back there.

— Sharks general manager Doug Wilson on Brent Burns returning back to defense