SHARE

CBJ @ EDM - 10:36 of the Second Period

Tuesday, 11.19.2013 / 11:16 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
CBJ @ EDM - 10:36 of the Second Period

At 10:36 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Oilers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because it appeared Nail Yakupov's shot crossed the goal line before the net was displaced. The referee informed the Situation Room that it was a good goal regardless of when the net was displaced since Yakupov was in the process of shooting the puck into the net before the Columbus player displaced the goal. According to rule 63.6 "In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, prior to the puck crossing the normal positions of the goal posts, the referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal". This is not a reviewable play - call on the ice stands, good goal Edmonton.

Quote of the Day

I don't think it's really truly going to sink in until we drop the puck, to be honest. I know there's going to be a lot of smoke and mirrors with the media attention and all that. We came [Monday] and it was sort of a light day to get things organized. We just want to focus in on the business aspect, the game itself. That's what we're preparing to do. Get these next couple of days out of the way and it's game on.

— Lightning captain Steven Stamkos on playing in his first Stanley Cup Final