SHARE
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final

ANA @ CBJ - 8:10 of the First Period

Sunday, 10.27.2013 / 6:42 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
ANA @ CBJ - 8:10 of the First Period

At 8:10 of the first period in the Ducks/Blue Jackets game, Brandon Dubinsky shot the puck into the net after Cam Atkinson used his hand to pass the puck to teammate Mark Letestu. According to Rule 79.1 "A player shall be permitted to stop or 'bat' a puck in the air with his open hand, or push it along the ice with his hand, and the play shall not be stopped unless, in the opinion of the on-ice officials, he has directed the puck to a teammate, or has allowed his team to gain an advantage, and subsequently possession and control of the puck is obtained by a player of the offending team, either directly or deflected off any player or official." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Columbus.

Quote of the Day

That was something I've been dreaming of, something I've told myself before the third period I was going to do ... It was an amazing feeling. It's hard to describe. I didn't believe it went in at first but when I saw all the reaction and all the fans going crazy and my teammates going crazy, it's just an unbelievable feeling. I didn't know what to do. I didn't know whether to jump or just skate and do a Theo Fleury. I don't think I'm the same caliber player he is so I couldn't do it.

— Flames forward Mikael Backlund on scoring the overtime winner against the Ducks in Gm. 3