SHARE
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final

EDM @ CBJ - 9:18 of the Second Period

Sunday, 02.10.2013 / 7:22 PM
2012-2013 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2012-2013 Situation Room blog
EDM @ CBJ - 9:18 of the Second Period

At 9:18 of the second period in the Oilers/Blue Jackets game, video review proved inconclusive. Therefore, the referee's call on-ice that Jordan Eberle high-sticked the puck into the net above the height of the crossbar stands. No Goal Edmonton.

According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick."

Quote of the Day

That was something I've been dreaming of, something I've told myself before the third period I was going to do ... It was an amazing feeling. It's hard to describe. I didn't believe it went in at first but when I saw all the reaction and all the fans going crazy and my teammates going crazy, it's just an unbelievable feeling. I didn't know what to do. I didn't know whether to jump or just skate and do a Theo Fleury. I don't think I'm the same caliber player he is so I couldn't do it.

— Flames forward Mikael Backlund on scoring the overtime winner against the Ducks in Gm. 3