During the Boston/New Jersey shootout an object was thrown onto the ice during Bruins forward Tyler Seguin's successful shootout attempt. However, the referee ruled that the player would reshoot because the object interfered with Devils goaltender Johan Hedberg during the shot. According to rule 24.4 "If, while the penalty shot is being taken, a spectator throws any object onto the ice or, in the judgment of the Referee, interferes with the player taking the shot or the goalkeeper defending the shot, he shall permit the shot be taken again."
Obviously a lot happened in a short period of time. At the end of the day, considering everything I went through, I really felt close to my teammates and I really feel like what we accomplished, I know we didn't win it all. ... I'm really proud of how we got there and what we did once we got there.
— Rangers forward Martin St. Louis to Jim Cerny of BlueshirtsUnited.com