Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google

Projected lineups for Hurricanes, Panthers

Saturday, 01.19.2013 / 1:57 PM

By Alain Poupart - Correspondent / 2012-13 Opening Day blog

Share with your Friends

2012-13 Opening Day blog
Projected lineups for Hurricanes, Panthers

SUNRISE, Fla. — The Florida Panthers are going to be short-handed when they begin defense of their Southeast Division title Saturday night against the Carolina Hurricanes.

Six regulars from last year’s team will be missing, the latest casualty being wing Kris Versteeg. He sustained a lower-body injury in practice Friday and left the morning skate early Saturday.

Taking Versteeg’s place on the top line with Stephen Weiss and Tomas Fleischmann will be Mike Santorelli, who was placed on waivers Friday.

Also out for Florida are forwards Sean Bergenheim and Marcel Goc as well as defensemen Dmitry Kulikov, Erik Gudbranson and Mike Weaver. All are dealing with injuries, except for Kulikov, who just rejoined the team after signing a new contract.

Here are the Panthers’ projected lines:

Tomas Fleischmann - Stephen Weiss - Mike Santorelli
Jonathan Huberdeau - Peter Mueller - Alex Kovalev
Scottie Upshall - Shawn Matthias - Tomas Kopecky
Jack Skille - Jerred Smithson - George Parros

Ed Jovanovski - Brian Campbell
Keaton Ellerby - Filip Kuba
Michael Caruso - Tyson Strachan

Jose Theodore
Scott Clemmensen

Here are the projected lines for the Carolina Hurricanes:

Zach Boychuk - Eric Staal - Alexander Semin
Jeff Skinner - Jordan Staal - Zac Dalpe
Jussi Jokinen - Jiri Tlusty - Chad LaRose
Drayson Bowman - Tim Brent - Patrick Dwyer

Tim Gleason - Joe Corvo
Joni Pitkanen - Justin Faulk
Jay Harrison - Bobby Sanguinetti

Cam Ward

Dan Ellis

Quote of the Day

It's a date that's been circled on my calendar, so it's kind of nice to have it here and get it over with (Thursday). This is a little bit of the closing of the book on the move. That's kind of how I'm looking at it.

— Stars forward Jason Spezza on returning to Ottawa for the first time to face the Senators