Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 1:16 AM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHX @ LAK - 16:55 of the Third Period

At 17:20 of the third period in the Phoenix Coyotes/Los Angeles Kings game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Los Angeles goal. Video review determined that Jeff Halpern's shot at 16:55 completely crossed the goal line. According to Rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock and penalty time clocks (if applicable)." Good goal Phoenix.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.16.2014 / 7:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MTL @ BUF - 14:41 of the First Period

At 14:41 of the first period in the Montreal Canadiens/Buffalo Sabres game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that David Desharnais' shot deflected off of Dale Weiss' skate and into the Buffalo net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.16.2014 / 5:57 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

SJS @ NYR - 16:45 of the Second Period

At 16:45 of the second period in the San Jose Sharks/New York Rangers game, the Situation Room initiated video review to further examine Carl Hagelin's wraparound attempt on the San Jose net. No camera angles provided to the Situation Room provided a clear image of the puck completely across the goal line. As a result, video review was inconclusive, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal New York Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.16.2014 / 3:31 PM

By NHL.com Staff -  /NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TOR @ WSH - 6:57 of the First Period

At 6:57 of the first period in the Maple Leafs/Capitals game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Joel Ward's shot deflected off of Jason Chimera's skate and into the Toronto net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.15.2014 / 11:04 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ MIN - Shootout

During the shootout in the Columbus Blue Jackets/Minnesota Wild game, the Situation Room initiated video review when the puck entered the Minnesota net. Video review confirmed that Wild goaltender Darcy Kuemper did not touch the puck during Ryan Johansen's deke attempt before Johansen shot the puck into the net, therefore there was no rebound by the shooter on the play. Good goal Columbus.

According to Rule 24.2 "The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent's goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.15.2014 / 8:53 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

OTT @ MTL - 14:50 of the Second Period

At 14:50 of the second period in the Ottawa Senators/Montreal Canadiens game, the Situation Room initiated video review after the puck entered the Montreal net. The referee informed the Situation Room that after a referee's huddle, it was determined Ottawa's Colin Greening made incidental contact with Montreal's Carey Price prior to the puck entering the net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he had also called a tripping penalty on Montreal's Lars Eller during the play. This is not a reviewable play, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands. No goal Ottawa. Penalty Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.14.2014 / 11:43 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

ANA @ COL - 13:52 of the Third Period

At 13:52 of the third period in the Anaheim Ducks/Colorado Avalanche game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Nathan MacKinnon's stick was above the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck off of goaltender Jonas Hiller and into the Anaheim net. According to Rule 80.3 "When an attacking player causes the puck to enter the opponent's goal by contacting the puck above the height of the crossbar, either directly or deflected off any player or official, the goal shall not be allowed". No goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.14.2014 / 7:51 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NJ @ FLA - 4:07 of the First Period

At 4:07 of the first period in the New Jersey Devils/Florida Panthers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Jonathan Huberdeau's wraparound attempt did not cross the New Jersey goal line. No goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.13.2014 / 9:21 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

SJS @ CBJ - 11:25 of the Third Period

At 11:25 of the third period in the San Jose Sharks/Columbus Blue Jackets game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Nick Foligno kicked the puck into the San Jose net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net.". No goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.13.2014 / 12:11 AM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

ANA @ CGY - 2:25 of the Third Period

At 2:25 of the third period in the Anaheim Ducks/Calgary Flames game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Calgary net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before goaltender Joni Ortio's glove was pushed into the net with the puck. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15-20 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I'm sure [my father] was going crazy up there. I hope all of my friends were celebrating in the crowd. Coming back here and all of my friends and family are here, getting a goal in front of them is special.

— Blues forward Ryan Reaves on scoring the game-winning goal Sunday against the Jets in his hometown of Winnipeg
2015 Coors Light NHL Stadium Series