Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Friday, 03.21.2014 / 11:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NSH @ CGY - 17:36 of the Third Period

At 17:36 of the third period in the Nashville Predators/Calgary Flames game, the Situation Room initiated video review to further examine a play at the Nashville net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Mike Cammalleri's shot completely crossed the goal line. Video review was inconclusive in determining whether the puck had completely crossed the goal line, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - good goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.21.2014 / 8:36 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYR @ CBJ - 17:06 of the Second Period

At 17:06 of the second period in the New York Rangers/Columbus Blue Jackets game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Columbus net. The referee informed the Situation Room that New York's Rick Nash made incidental contact with Columbus goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky prior to the puck entering the net. This is not a reviewable play, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal New York Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.21.2014 / 1:08 AM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

ANA @ SJ - 14:19 of the Third Period

At 14:19 of the third period in the Anaheim Ducks/San Jose Sharks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the San Jose net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play when the puck was on top of the net and before it crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.20.2014 / 10:21 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PIT @ DET - 4:59 of Overtime

At 4:59 of overtime in the Pittsburgh Penguins/Detroit Red Wings game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Daniel Alfredsson's shot rebounded off goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury and deflected off Penguins defenseman Rob Scuderi before entering the Pittsburgh net with 0.4 seconds on the game clock. Good goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.19.2014 / 9:43 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

STL @ CHI - 15:35 of the Second Period

At 15:35 of the second period in the St. Louis Blues/Chicago Blackhawks game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Andrew Shaw's stick was at or below the level of the crossbar when he deflected Nick Leddy's shot into the St. Louis net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 11:15 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NSH @ EDM - 14:48 of the Second Period

At 16:05 of the second period in the Nashville Predators/Edmonton Oilers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine Taylor Hall's shot at 14:48. Video review determined that Hall's shot crossed the Nashville goal line. According to Rule 78.6 "When a team scores an apparent goal that is not seen by the on-ice officials and play continues, the play shall be reviewed by the Video Goal Judge at the next stoppage of play. If the goal is confirmed by video review, the clock (including penalty time clocks, if applicable) is re-set to the time the goal was scored. Any penalties signaled during the period of time between the apparent goal and the next stoppage of play shall be assessed in the normal manner, except when a minor penalty is to be assessed to the team being scored upon, and is therefore nullified by the scoring of the goal." Oilers defenseman Mark Fraser is still assessed a holding minor and good goal Edmonton.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 10:11 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CHI @ PHI - 13:48 of the Third Period

At 13:48 of the third period in the Chicago Blackhawks/Philadelphia Flyers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Chicago net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Vincent Lecavalier's stick was above the normal height of his shoulders when he deflected the puck to teammate Brayden Schenn, who then shot the puck into the Chicago net. According to Rule 80.1 "Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with a stick is prohibited. When a puck is struck with a high stick and subsequently comes into the possession and control of a player from the offending team, either directly or deflected off any player or official, there shall be a whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands, no goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 9:53 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TOR @ DET - 10:32 of the Third Period

At 10:32 of third period in the Toronto Maple Leafs/Detroit Red Wings game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Detroit net. Video review determined that Toronto's Nazem Kadri used his right skate to kick the puck into the Detroit net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 9:39 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYR @ OTT - 2:40 of the Third Period

At 2:40 of the third period in the New York Rangers/Ottawa Senators game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Ottawa net. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Mats Zuccarello's pass deflected off Derek Stepan's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal New York Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 9:15 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MIN @ NYI - 7:06 of the Third Period

At 8:07 of the third period in the Minnesota Wild/New York Islanders game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine Justin Fontaine's shot at 7:06. Video review determined that Fontaine's shot crossed the New York goal line. According to Rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock and penalty time clocks (if applicable)." Good goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14-19 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

It was pretty unbelievable...I think (my family in France) is pretty much in front of the TV right now. I don't think I have to wake them up.

— 29-year-old Flyers forward Pierre-Edouard Bellemare after scoring his first NHL goal
Winter Classic sweepstakes