Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Monday, 03.31.2014 / 7:48 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CAR @ OTT - 1:41 of the First Period

At 1:41 of the first period in the Carolina Hurricanes/Ottawa Senators game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Patrick Wiercioch's shot deflected off Mika Zibanejad's skate and into the Carolina net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.29.2014 / 10:28 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WPG @ LAK - 7:53 of the First Period

At 7:53 of the first period in the Winnipeg Jets/Los Angeles Kings game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Los Angeles forward Anze Kopitar deflected the puck into the Winnipeg net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.29.2014 / 9:32 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ STL - 7:21 of the Second Period

At 7:21 of the second period in the Dallas Stars/St. Louis Blues game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Shawn Horcoff's shot deflected off Colton Sceviour's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.29.2014 / 9:30 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MTL @ FLA - 6:37 of the Third Period

At 6:37 of the third period in the Montreal Canadiens/Florida Panthers game, the referee initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Florida net. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the net was displaced before the puck crossed the Florida goal line. According to Rule 78.5 (x) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the referee when the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the net." No goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.28.2014 / 9:51 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NSH @ DAL - 5:37 of the Second Period

At 5:37 of the second period in the Nashville Predators/Dallas Stars game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Trevor Daley's shot deflected off of Colton Sceviour's skate and into the Nashville net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.28.2014 / 9:28 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYR @ CGY - 6:49 of the First Period

At 6:49 of the first period in the New York Rangers/Calgary Flames game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Calgary net. Video review determined that Martin St. Louis used his right skate to kick the puck into the Calgary net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net.". No goal New York Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.27.2014 / 10:19 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MIN @ STL - 7:18 of the Third Period

At 7:18 of the third period in the Minnesota Wild/St. Louis Blues game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that T.J. Oshie's stick was at or below the level of the crossbar when he deflected Jay Bouwmeester's shot into the Minnesota net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal St. Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.27.2014 / 9:30 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ PIT - 9:41 of the Third Period

At 9:41 of the the third period in the Los Angeles Kings/Pittsburgh Penguins game, the Situation Room initiated video review after the puck entered the Los Angeles net. The referee informed the Situation Room that after a huddle, the officials' group decision was that Pittsburgh's Brandon Sutter pushed Los Angeles goaltender Martin Jones' pad and the puck into the net, impeding Jones' ability to play his position. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty and no goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.27.2014 / 9:13 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CHI @ BOS - 5:41 of the Third Period

At 5:41 of the third period in the Chicago Blackhawks/Boston Bruins game, the Situation Room initiated video review after the puck entered the Chicago net. The Situation Room supported the referees' group decision on the ice that the net remained in its proper place when Patrice Bergeron's shot crossed the goal line. Initially, the referee closest to the net had waved off the goal, but after consulting with the other officials, the referees' group decision was a good goal. Video review supported that group decision. According to Rule 78.4 "The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice". Good goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.27.2014 / 8:42 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHX @ NJD - 19:59 of the Second Period

At 19:59 of the second period in the Phoenix Coyotes/New Jersey Devils game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Jon Merrill's shot deflected off of Ryane Clowe and into the net in a legal fashion, completely crossing the goal line with 0.3 seconds remaining on the clock. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12-17 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I just wanted to do something to take my mind off the shot and let me relax a little bit. It seemed like the fans liked it. I'm glad I was able to score.

— Oilers forward Taylor Hall on lifting his arms to fire up the crowd before his penalty shot
Winter Classic sweepstakes