We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Sunday, 04.13.2014 / 4:36 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CAR @ PHI - 11:16 of the Second Period

At 11:16 of the second period in the Carolina Hurricanes/Philadelphia Flyers game, the Situation Room initiated video review after the puck entered the Carolina net. The referee informed the situation room that Scott Hartnell slid into Carolina goaltender Anton Khudobin creating incidental contact, preventing Khudobin from doing his job in the crease. This is not a reviewable play, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands, no penalty Philadelphia, no goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.12.2014 / 11:44 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

ANA @ LAK - 2:33 of the Second Period

At 2:33 of the second period in the Anaheim Ducks/Los Angeles Kings game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Devante Smith-Pelly's skate and into the Los Angeles net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "If an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.12.2014 / 7:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TOR @ OTT - 8:55 of the First Period

At 8:55 of the first period in the Toronto Maple Leafs/Ottawa Senators game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Toronto net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Ottawa's Marc Methot made incidental contact with Toronto goaltender James Reimer, preventing Reimer from doing his job in the crease. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty and no goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.10.2014 / 9:39 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

STL @ MIN - 10:30 of the Second Period

At 10:30 of the second period in the St. Louis Blues/Minnesota Wild game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck crossed the Minnesota goal line. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play when the Blues took possession of the puck due to an injury to forward T.J. Oshie. According to Rule 8.1, "In the case where it is obvious that a player has sustained a serious injury, the Referee and/or Linesman may stop the play immediately." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal St. Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.10.2014 / 9:15 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MTL @ NYI - 15:05 of the Second Period

At 15:05 of the second period in the Montreal Canadiens/New York Islanders game, video review determined that Ryan Strome's shot completely crossed the Montreal goal line, hitting the in-net camera. Good goal New York Islanders.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 04.09.2014 / 11:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ CGY - 16:09 of the Second Period

At 16:09 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/Calgary Flames game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Jarret Stoll's stick was at or below the level of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Calgary net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.08.2014 / 9:32 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

OTT @ NYI - 12:44 of the Third Period

At 12:54 of the third period in the Ottawa Senators/New York Islanders game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine Jason Spezza's shot at 12:44. Video review determined that Spezza's shot completely crossed the New York goal line. According to Rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock and penalty time clocks (if applicable)." Good goal Ottawa and the clock is reset to the time that Spezza's shot crossed the goal line.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.08.2014 / 7:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHX @ CBJ - 13:32 of the First Period

At 13:32 of the first period in the Phoenix Coyotes/Columbus Blue Jackets game, video review determined that Martin Erat's shot completely crossed the Columbus goal line. Good goal Phoenix.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.07.2014 / 7:50 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CGY @ NJD - 18:34 of the First Period

At 18:34 of the first period in the Calgary Flames/New Jersey Devils game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Ryan Carter kicked the puck into the Calgary net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.06.2014 / 12:15 AM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ VAN - 1:06 of the Third Period

At 1:06 of the third period in the Los Angeles Kings/Vancouver Canucks game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Daniel Sedin's shot deflected off Alexander Edler's stick and skate before crossing the Los Angeles goal line in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7-12 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I downplayed the first one because I thought it's just a hockey game. We just want to win the game; it's against our rival and we want the two points. I downplayed it, but now having gone through the first one I look back and say, 'Geez, that was really cool.' I think as I've grown a bit older I've got a lot more appreciation for what we're allowed to do every day.

— Capitals forward Brooks Laich on the 2015 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic, the second one of his career after 2011 in Pittsburgh