Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Tuesday, 10.08.2013 / 7:43 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CAR @ PIT - 16:41 of the First Period

At 16:41 of the first period in the Hurricanes/Penguins game, video review determined that Pascal Dupuis kicked the puck into the net with his right skate. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 10.06.2013 / 10:52 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

VAN @ CGY - 19:41 of the Third Period

At 19:41 of the third period in the Canucks/Flames game, video review was inconclusive in determining if the puck entered the net in an illegal fashion. Therefore, the referee's call on the ice stands. Good goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 10.06.2013 / 6:20 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHI @ CAR - 3:01 of the Second Period

At 3:01 of the second period in the Flyers/Hurricanes game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Luke Schenn's shot entered the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 10.05.2013 / 9:51 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHI @ MTL - 7:55 of the Third Period

At 7:55 of the third period in the Flyers/Canadiens game, video review was initiated by the Situation Room because the puck entered the Philadelphia net. Referee Brian Pochmara was in the process of blowing his whistle prior to the puck entering the net. No goal Montreal.

According to Rule 78.5 (xii) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when the referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle".

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 10.05.2013 / 9:40 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHI @ MTL - 4:42 of the Third Period

At 4:42 of the third period in the Flyers/Canadiens game, video review determined that P.K. Subban's shot entered through the side of the net. No goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 10.05.2013 / 9:39 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WSH @ DAL - 8:01 of the Second Period

At 8:01 of the second period in the Capitals/Stars game, the puck entered the Dallas net. Referee Mike Leggo determined that Nicklas Backstrom made incidental contact with goalie Kari Lehtonen and prevented Lehtonen from doing his job in the crease -- no goal, no penalty. This play is the referee's call on the ice and is not reviewable.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 10.04.2013 / 9:33 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ WPG - 6:42 of the Second Period

At 6:42 of the second period in the Kings/Jets game, video review determined that Blake Wheeler's shot entered the net after it had come off its moorings. No Goal Winnipeg.

According to Rule 78.5 "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the referee when the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the net".

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 10.03.2013 / 8:30 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CGY @ WSH - 1:02 of the Second Period

At 1:02 of the second period in the Flames/Capitals game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck never crossed the goal line between the posts. No goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 10.03.2013 / 8:27 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ MIN - 1:04 of the First Period

At 1:04 of the first period in the Kings/Wild game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Kyle Brodziak's shot deflected off Matt Cooke's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. The determining factor was that the speed of the puck propelled it into the net and that Cooke's skate only redirected it. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 10.01.2013 / 7:00 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

Get the scoop from Toronto

You have arrived at the Situation Room Blog -- the place you want to be every night of the 2013-2014 season.

Starting tonight, NHL.com reports instantly from inside the League's Hockey Operations situation room in Toronto, where Hockey Ops reviews and decides disputed goals.

Plus, find out the "why" behind those calls. You get the NHL's official ruling first -- here at the Situation Room Blog.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
First | Prev | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39
Quote of the Day

I don't know how he does it. I don't know how he gets his body parallel with the player and pulls it through his legs like that. I know he's tried it a couple times in practice and it's never worked, so how he does it in a game, it's incredible.

— Capitals defenseman Mike Green on teammate Alex Ovechkin's highlight-reel goal against the Devils on Saturday