Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Tuesday, 12.10.2013 / 8:51 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

OTT @ BUF - 15:30 of the Second Period

At 15:30 of the second period in the Senators/Sabres game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Ottawa net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he had a delayed hi-sticking penalty against Ottawa's Jason Spezza therefore the play was stopped as soon as any Ottawa player gained possession/control of the puck. According to Rule 15.1 "When the team to be penalized gains control of the puck, the Referee will blow his whistle to stop play and impose the penalty on the offending player." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands. No goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 12.09.2013 / 10:51 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYI @ ANA - 15:54 of the First Period

At 15:54 of the first period in the Islanders/Ducks game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Saku Koivu's shot crossed the goal line before the net was displaced. According to Rule 78.4 "The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice. The flexible pegs could be bent, but as long as at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still in the hole in the ice and the goal post, the goal frame shall be deemed to be in its proper position." Good goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 12.09.2013 / 9:52 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ PIT - 8:52 of the Third Period

At 8:52 of the third period in the Blue Jackets/Penguins game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Pascal Dupuis' shot hit a Columbus defender before deflecting off Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby and into the net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 12.09.2013 / 9:33 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHI @ OTT - 2:21 of the Third Period

At 2:21 of the third period in the Flyers/Senators game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Ottawa forward Clarke MacArthur and into the Philadelphia net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 12.08.2013 / 9:40 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

BOS @ TOR - 16:00 of the Third Period

At 16:00 of the third period in the Bruins/Maple Leafs game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Milan Lucic's shot deflected off Jarome Iginla's skate and into the Toronto net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 12.08.2013 / 9:37 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WSH @ NYR - 18:07 of the Third Period

At 18:07 of third period in the Capitals/Rangers game, video review was inconclusive in determining whether Benoit Pouliot's stick was above the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Washington net. Therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - good goal New York Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 12.07.2013 / 8:48 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NJD @ NYR - 6:02 of the Second Period

At 6:02 of the second period in the Devils/Rangers game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck redirected off Cam Janssen's skate and entered the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 12.06.2013 / 9:46 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

ANA @ CHI - 14:27 of the Second Period

At 14:27 of the second period in the Ducks/Blackhawks game, the situation room initiated video review to further examine a play at the Chicago net. Video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Kyle Palmieri's shot did not cross the goal line. No goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 12.05.2013 / 9:46 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ TOR - 17:14 of the Third Period

At 17:14 of the third period in the Stars/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Kevin Connauton's shot was deflected into the Maple Leafs net by Shawn Horcoff. Horcoff's stick was below the cross bar when he deflected the shot. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." Good Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 12.05.2013 / 9:28 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ TOR - 9:42 of the Third Period

At 9:42 of the third period in the Stars/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Vernon Fiddler's shot was deflected by Shawn Horcoff's high stick into the Maple Leafs net. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34-39 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

My focus is always just to play as well as I can and do my job, no matter where the faceoff is.

— New York Rangers forward Carl Hagelin on using his speed to his advantage
Winter Classic sweepstakes