Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Tuesday, 12.17.2013 / 9:08 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

FLA @ TOR - 3:43 of the Third Period

At 3:43 of the third period in the Panthers/Maple Leafs game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Mason Raymond's stick was below the level of the crossbar when he deflected Peter Holland's shot into the Florida net. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good goal Toronto

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 12.17.2013 / 9:06 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TBL @ NYI - 1:05 of Third Period

At 1:05 of the third period in the Lightning/Islanders game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Tampa Bay net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line therefore this is not a reviewable play. The call on the ice stands - no goal New York Islanders.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 12.16.2013 / 9:48 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

COL @ DAL - 19:47 of the First Period

At 19:47 of the first period in the Avalanche/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Colorado net. Video review supported the referee's call on the that the puck did not cross the goal line. No goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 12.16.2013 / 7:49 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WPG @ CBJ - 19:14 of the First Period

At 19:14 of the first period in the Jets/Blue Jackets game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Winnipeg net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Columbus forward Matt Calvert made incidental contact with goalie Al Montoya, preventing Montoya from doing his job in the crease. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty, no goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 12.15.2013 / 8:46 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

FLA @ MTL - 18:51 of the Third Period

At 18:51 of the third period in the Panthers/Canadiens game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Brad Boyes kicked the puck into the Montreal net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 12.14.2013 / 8:36 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CHI @ TOR - 4:44 of the Second Period

At 4:44 of the second period in the Blackhawks/Maple Leafs game, the NHL Situation Room initiated a review because the puck went into the Maple Leafs net. The referee on the ice ruled that the puck was batted by Marian Hossa's glove off Dion Phaneuf's stick and into the Maple Leafs net. According to rule 67.6 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck and it is deflected into the net off any player, goalkeeper or official." This is not a reviewable call. No Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 12.13.2013 / 9:23 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WSH @ FLA - 19:30 of the Second Period

At 19:30 of the second period in the Capitals/Panthers game, the Situation Room initiated video review to examine a play at the Florida net. Video review determined that Joel Ward's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good goal Washington.

According to Rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock and penalty time clocks (if applicable)."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 12.12.2013 / 9:29 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MTL @ PHI - 13:25 of the Third Period

At 13:25 of the third period in the Canadiens/Flyers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Montreal forward Brian Gionta used his left hand to direct the puck into the Philadelphia net. According to Rule 67.6 "a goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net". No goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 12.11.2013 / 9:26 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHI @ CHI - 5:27 of the Second Period

At 5:27 of the second period in the Flyers/Blackhawks game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Michal Handzus deflected the puck into the net with his stick after it made contact with his skate. Good goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 12.10.2013 / 9:03 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CHI @ DAL - 2:03 of the First Period

At 2:03 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Stars game, video review determined that Michael Kostka's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good goal Chicago.

The NHL Situation Room's in-net camera had this exclusive view of the goal:


Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33-38 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I didn't even know how to celebrate. I threw my hands up, they gave me a hug, so I guess that's all I needed.

— Sabres forward Tim Schaller on scoring his first NHL goal Sunday against the Bruins