We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE
Posted On Saturday, 01.11.2014 / 7:25 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ WPG - 3:25 of the First Period

At 3:25 of the first period in the Blue Jackets/Jets game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Devin Setoguchi's stick was above the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Columbus net. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.09.2014 / 10:03 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WSH @ TB - 14:30 of the Third Period

At 14:30 of the third period in the Capitals/Lightning game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Ondrej Palat's stick was below the level of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Washington net. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.09.2014 / 9:56 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

FLA @ BUF - Shootout

In the second round of the Panthers/Sabres shootout, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck crossed the Buffalo goal line. The referee informed the Situation Room that Jonathan Huberdeau used his stick to push Jhonas Enroth's pad and the puck across the goal line, preventing Enroth from doing his job in the crease. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.09.2014 / 9:28 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ NJ - 11:02 of the Third Period

At 11:02 of the third period in the Stars/Devils game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Dallas net. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Travis Zajac's shot did not cross the goal line. No goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.09.2014 / 9:23 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

FLA @ BUF - 13:07 of the Third Period

At 13:07 of the third period in the Panthers/Sabres game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Buffalo net. The referee informed the Situation Room that the play was stopped due to an injury to a Florida player. This is not a reviewable play therefore the call on the ice stands - no goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.09.2014 / 9:12 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

WSH @ TBL - 13:26 of the Second Period

At 13:26 of the second period in the Capitals/Lightning game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Tampa Bay's Ondrej Palat kicked the puck into the Washington net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net.". No goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.09.2014 / 8:00 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

Ice Conditions in the Capitals/Lightning Game

The Capitals and Lightning changed ends at the first whistle after the 10:00 mark of the first period to accommodate an issue with the ice in the visitors goal crease. This decision was reached during a conversation between the on-ice officials and the head coach and general manager of each team. The situation will be re-evaluated during the first intermission.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.07.2014 / 10:28 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TBL @ WPG - 8:39 of the Third Period

At 8:39 of the third period in the Lightning/Jets game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off of Martin St. Louis' skate and entered the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.07.2014 / 10:11 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CGY @ PHX - 2:07 of the Second Period

At 2:07 of the second period in the Flames/Coyotes game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off of Shane Doan and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Phoenix.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.07.2014 / 9:38 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYI @ TOR - 16:55 of the Third Period

At 16:55 of the third period in the Islanders/Maple Leafs game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off of Joffrey Lupul and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27-32 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I'm hoping Bob [Murray] didn't go out and get Dany Heatley just to get someone. I'm sure he's excited and motivated.

— Anaheim Ducks coach Bruce Boudreau on general manager Bob Murray's decision to sign Dany Heatley