We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE
Posted On Tuesday, 02.04.2014 / 9:19 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ PHX - 0:59 of the First Period

At 0:59 of the first period in the Stars/Coyotes game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck crossed the Phoenix goal line. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands, no goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.04.2014 / 8:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CGY @ MTL - 1:44 of the Second Period

At 1:44 of the second period in the Flames/Canadiens game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Lee Stempniak's shot did not completely cross the Montreal goal line. No goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.04.2014 / 8:23 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TOR @ FLA - 17:05 of the First Period

At 17:05 of the first period in the Maple Leafs/Panthers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine Dion Phaneuf's shot at 16:44 and Nikolai Kulemin's wraparound attempt at 17:05. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that neither shot crossed the Florida goal line. No goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.03.2014 / 9:47 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

COL @ NJD - 4:06 of the Third Period

At 4:06 of the third period in the Avalanche/Devils game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Jaromir Jagr's shot did not cross the Colorado goal line. No goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.03.2014 / 9:28 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

EDM @ BUF - 9:35 of the Third Period

At 9:35 of the third period in the Oilers/Sabres game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Edmonton net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.03.2014 / 7:27 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

EDM @ BUF - 8:04 of the First Period

At 8:04 of the first period in the Oilers/Sabres game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Steve Ott's shot completely crossed the Edmonton goal line. Good goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.01.2014 / 9:55 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

OTT @ TOR - 9:06 of the Third Period

The Situation Room initiated a video review at 9:08 of the third period to further examine Chris Neil's shot at 9:06. The in-net and overhead cameras showed that the puck completely crossed the Toronto goal line. Good goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.01.2014 / 2:19 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

EDM @ BOS - 8:32 of the Second Period

At 8:32 of the second period in the Oilers/Bruins game, video review determined that Boston forward Loui Eriksson used his right skate to kick the puck into the Edmonton net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.30.2014 / 11:34 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MIN @ COL - 12:24 of the Third Period

At 12:24 of the third period in the Wild/Avalanche game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Ryan O'Reilly's shot hit the goal post, never crossing the Minnesota goal line. No goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.30.2014 / 9:16 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

FLA @ TOR - 1:57 of the Third Period

At 1:57 of the third period in the Panthers/Maple Leafs game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Toronto net. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck never crossed the goal line. No goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21-26 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

You don't see many. The [Drew] Doughtys, the [P.K.] Subbans, those are guys that create offense from the back and then on top of that ability, the size that he has. In the West you play against some pretty big players, and being able to clear the crease and contain the [Ryan] Getzlafs and the [Corey] Perrys and [Anze] Kopitars and players like that, we're excited about him going back there.

— Sharks general manager Doug Wilson on Brent Burns returning back to defense