We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE
Posted On Saturday, 03.17.2012 / 9:21 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

TOR @ OTT - 3:25 of the Third Period



At 3:25 of the third period in the Maple Leafs/Senators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Jason Spezza kicked the puck into the net with his left skate. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Ottawa.
Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.17.2012 / 2:34 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

PIT @ NJ - 11:44 of the Second Period



At 11:44 of the second period in the Penguins/Devils game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Sidney Crosby's backhand pass deflected off Matt Cooke's right skate and into the net.

According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal."  Good Goal Pittsburgh.
Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.17.2012 / 1:46 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

PIT @ NJ - 16:57 of the First Period


At 16:57 of the first period in the Devils/Penguins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Andy Greene's shot crossed the goal line. Good Goal New Jersey.
Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.15.2012 / 8:50 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

BOS @ FLA - 4:53 of the Second Period

At 4:53 of the second period in the Panthers/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Joe Corvo's point shot was not touched by any Bruin and went into the net in a legal fashion. Good Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.15.2012 / 8:42 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

BOS @ FLA - 0:38 of the Second Period

At 0:38 of the second period in the Blues/Panthers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Brian Campbell's point shot was tipped by Marcel Goc's stick, which was below the crossbar, and into the net. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed".  Good Goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.14.2012 / 11:54 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

PHX @ VAN - 18:41 of the Second Period

At 18:41 of the second period in the Coyotes/Canucks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Gilbert Brule's body and entered the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Phoenix.

According to rule 78.4 "If an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body , in any manner, the goal shall be allowed."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.14.2012 / 11:50 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ EDM - 18:56 of the Second Period

At 18:56 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Oilers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Columbus' net became dislodged  before the puck crossed the goal line. No goal Edmonton.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.14.2012 / 8:06 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

COL @ BUF -1:39 of the First Period

At 1:39 of the first period in the Avalanche/Sabres game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off the skate of Marcus Foligno and entered the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Buffalo.

Rule 49.2  A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.13.2012 / 11:59 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

DET @ LAK - 10:57 of the Second Period

At 10:57 of the second period in the Red Wings/Kings, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Drew Doughty's point shot deflected off Ian White's arm and into the net in a legal fashion. Good Goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.13.2012 / 7:51 PM

NHL.com - 2011-2012 Situation Room blog

BOS @ TBL - 1:56 of the First Period

At 1:56 of the first period in the Bruins/Lightning game, video review determined that Ryan Malone's centering pass deflected off Tom Pyatt's right skate and into the net.  According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal."  Good Goal Tampa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14-19 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I'm hoping Bob [Murray] didn't go out and get Dany Heatley just to get someone. I'm sure he's excited and motivated.

— Anaheim Ducks coach Bruce Boudreau on general manager Bob Murray's decision to sign Dany Heatley