We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE
Posted On Thursday, 03.21.2013 / 12:11 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CHI @ ANA - 5:57 of the Third Period

At 5:57 of the third period in the Blackhawks/Ducks game, video review determined that Chicago forward Brandon Bollig kicked the puck into the net with his right skate. No goal Chicago. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.20.2013 / 1:11 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ LAK - 11:28 of the Third Period

At 11:28 of the third period in the Coyotes/Kings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Phoenix forward Shane Doan deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar. Good Goal Phoenix. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.19.2013 / 9:24 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ NYI - 7:22 of the Third Period

At 7:22 of the third period in the Islanders/Senators game, video review determined that Keith Aucoin kicked the puck into the net with his skate. No goal New York Islanders. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.17.2013 / 12:40 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ VAN - 14:44 of the Third Period

At 14:44 of the third period in the Red Wings/Canucks game, video review determined that Pavel Datsyuk's pass deflected off Justin Abdelkader's body and into the net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.16.2013 / 10:34 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ VAN - 6:08 of the First Period

At 6:08 of the first period in the Red Wings/Canucks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Detroit forward Pavel Datsyuk's centering pass deflected off Justin Abdelkader's skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.16.2013 / 8:41 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ TOR - 10:36 of the Second Period

At 10:36 of the second period in the Jets/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Winnipeg forward Antti Miettinen deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the cross bar. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.15.2013 / 11:16 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ CGY - 1:14 of the Third Period

At 1:14 of the third period in the Predators/Flames game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Curtis Glencross' body and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 11:45 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ VAN - 13:48 of the Second Period

At 13:48 of the second period in the Predators/Canucks game, the referee on the ice ruled that Jannik Hansen's shot completely crossed the goal line, video replay reviewed the play and was inconclusive in determining if the puck completely crossed the goal line. Ruling on the ice stands. Good Goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 11:09 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ DAL - 17:08 of the Third Period

At 17:08 of the third period in the Ducks/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dallas forward Jaromir Jagr's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 10:03 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ DAL - 11:41 of the Second Period

At 11:41 of the second period in the Ducks/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dallas forward Reilly Smith's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15-19 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

You don't see many. The [Drew] Doughtys, the [P.K.] Subbans, those are guys that create offense from the back and then on top of that ability, the size that he has. In the West you play against some pretty big players, and being able to clear the crease and contain the [Ryan] Getzlafs and the [Corey] Perrys and [Anze] Kopitars and players like that, we're excited about him going back there.

— Sharks general manager Doug Wilson on Brent Burns returning back to defense