Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
2014 NHL Draft
SHARE
Posted On Saturday, 06.15.2013 / 8:58 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BOS @ CHI - 12:32 of the 1st Period

At 12:32 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Bruins game, video review was initiated by the NHL Situation Room because the puck entered the Boston net. The referee had blown the play dead prior to Chicago Blackhawks forward Marian Hossa pushing the goaltender's pads and the puck across the goal line. No goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 05.27.2013 / 8:26 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CHI @ DET - 3:53 of the First Period

At 3:53 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Red Wings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Marian Hossa shot the puck into the net prior to the net being displaced. Good Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 05.25.2013 / 9:30 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ CHI - 6:10 of the Second Period

At 6:10 of the second period in the Red Wings/Blackhawks game, the Toronto Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck crossed the Red Wings goal line. The referee ruled that he had blown the whistle prior to the Chicago player tipping the puck over the goal line therefore there was no review. No Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 05.24.2013 / 7:55 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ PIT - 6:25 of the First Period

At 6:25 of the first period in the Senators/Penguins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Mark Eaton's shot first deflected off Brenden Morrow's stick and then his right skate and into the net in a legal fashion. Good Goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 05.10.2013 / 11:51 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

STL @ LA - 19:59 of the Second Period

At 19:59 of the second period in the Blues/Kings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dustin Penner's shot crossed the goal line with 0.2 seconds left on the clock. Good Goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 05.09.2013 / 8:43 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ MTL - 11:29 of the Second Period

At 11:29 of the second period in the Senators/Canadiens game, the referee initiated a review to determine if the puck entered the Montreal net in a legal fashion. The Toronto Situation Room upheld the referee's call on the ice that Erik Condra's shot deflected off Kyle Turris' body and entered the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 05.09.2013 / 12:30 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ ANA - 8:05 of the Third Period

At 8:05 of the third period in the Red Wings/Ducks game, the Toronto Situation Room called the referee after the puck entered the net. The referee had determined on the ice that Anaheim's Kyle Palmieri slid into the goalie and knocked the puck and the goalie into the net. The referee called no goal on the ice due to goaltender interference, which is not a reviewable play. Therefore, the referee's call on the ice stands. No goal, no penalty Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 05.07.2013 / 9:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MTL @ OTT - 11:55 of the Third Period

At 11:55 of the third period in the Canadiens/Senators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Mika Zibanejad's left skate and into the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Ottawa.

According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 05.07.2013 / 12:35 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

STL @ LAK - 8:30 of the Third Period

At 8:30 of the third period in the Blues/Kings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Justin Williams' stick was below the cross bar when he deflected Mike Richards' shot into the net. Good Goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 05.06.2013 / 10:27 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ DET - 12:41 of the Third Period

At 12:41 of the third period in the Ducks/Red Wings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Johan Franzen's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 05.06.2013 / 7:53 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ NYR - 4:06 of the First Period

At 4:06 of the first period in the Capitals/Rangers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Nicklas Backstrom's stick was below the cross bar when he deflected John Carlson's shot into the net. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 05.04.2013 / 9:40 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ BOS - 10:35 of the Third Period

At 10:35 of the third period in the Maple Leafs/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Johnny Boychuk's shot deflected off James Reimer's glove and Tyler Bozak's body and into the net in a legal fashion.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 05.04.2013 / 8:20 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ BOS - 1:56 of the Second Period

At 1:56 of the second period in the Maple Leafs/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Nathan Horton's right skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 05.04.2013 / 3:45 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ WSH - 19:15 of the Third Period

At 19:15 of the third period in the Rangers/Capitals game, the referee's on the ice ruled that the puck deflected off Capitals defenseman Karl Alzner's stick and went over the glass. Because the referee's determination was that it was a deflection and that Karl Alzner did not shoot nor bat the puck it was NOT subject to rule 63.2 which imposes a minor penalty for delay of game. This play is not reviewable by the NHL Situation Room.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
Posted On Friday, 05.03.2013 / 9:52 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MIN @ CHI - 4:52 of the First Period

At 4:52 of the first period in the Wild/Blackhawks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Patrick Kane used his skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 05.02.2013 / 11:40 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

LA @ STL - 3:44 of the Third Period

At 3:44 of the third period in the Kings/Blues game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off St Louis forward Patrik Berglund and into the Kings net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal St Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 05.02.2013 / 10:09 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ WSH - 15:57 of the Third Period

At 15:57 of the third period in the Rangers/Capitals game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that John Moore's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal NY Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 05.02.2013 / 9:46 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ MTL - 13:55 of the Third Period

At 13:55 of the third period in the Senators/Canadiens game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Guillaume Latendresse's body and into the Canadiens net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 05.01.2013 / 8:13 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ BOS - 1:10 of the Second Period

At 1:10 of the second period in the Maple Leafs/Bruins game, video review determined that Tyler Seguin's shot hit the crossbar and did not cross the goal line. No Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 05.01.2013 / 7:53 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ BOS - 19:48 of the First Period

At 19:48 of the first period in the Bruins/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Nathan Horton's stick was below the crossbar when he deflected Wade Redden's shot into the net. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.27.2013 / 8:41 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MIN @ COL - 4:05 of the Second Period

At 4:05 of the second period in the Wild/Avalanche game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Colorado forward Chuck Kobasew used his right skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.27.2013 / 7:26 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ CBJ - 8:00 of the First Period

At 8:00 of the first period in the Predators/Blue Jackets game, the referee's on the ice huddled and ruled that Nashville forward Craig Smith used his left skate to kick the puck into the net. The Toronto Situation Room reviewed the play and upheld the referee's call on the ice. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.25.2013 / 10:25 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CGY @ STL - 12:01 of the Third Period

At 12:01 of the third period in the Flames/Blues game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Mike Cammalleri's shot did not completely crossed the goal line. No Goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 04.24.2013 / 11:07 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CHI @ EDM - 13:51 of the Second Period

At 13:51 of the second period in the Blackhawks/Oilers game during a scramble in the Edmonton crease, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck never completely crossed the goal line. No Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.23.2013 / 10:29 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CGY @ NSH - 15:10 of the Third Period

At 15:10 of the third period in the Flames/Predators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Calgary forward Roman Cervenka's stick was below the height of the cross bar when he deflected Chris Butler's shot into the net. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.23.2013 / 10:01 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BUF @ PIT - 17:26 of the Third Period

At 17:26 of the third period in the Sabres/Penguins game, the referee on the ice ruled that Steve Ott batted the puck into the net with his stick below the cross bar. The Toronto Situation Room reviewed the play but was inconclusive so the referee's call on the ice stands. Good Goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.23.2013 / 9:11 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

LAK @ MIN - 4:55 of the Second Period

At 4:55 of the second period in the Kings/Wild game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Justin Williams batted the puck with his stick above the crossbar into the net. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No Goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.23.2013 / 8:40 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ WSH - 14:48 of the Second Period

At 14:48 of the second period in the Jets/Capitals game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Alexander Ovechkin's centering pass deflected off Nicklas Backstrom's skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.23.2013 / 7:36 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ WSH - 13:51 of the First Period

At 13:51 of the first period in the Jets/Capitals game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Winnipeg forward Aaron Gagnon's deflection did not completely cross the Washington goal line. No Goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.23.2013 / 7:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYI @ CAR - 6:04 of the First Period

At 6:04 of the first period in the Islanders/Hurricanes game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Mark Streit's shot deflected off Brad Boyes' left skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal New York.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.21.2013 / 11:53 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DAL @ LAK - 4:08 of Overtime

At 4:08 of overtime in the Stars/Kings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Los Angeles forward Mike Richards' shot deflected off Jeff Carter's shoulder and into the net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.21.2013 / 8:39 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

STL @ COL - 11:48 of the First Period

At 11:48 of the first period in the Blues/Avalanche game, video review upheld the referee's decision on the ice that Colorado forward Aaron Palushaj's centering pass deflected off Jamie McGinn's left skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.21.2013 / 7:16 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ TBL - 4:04 of the Second Period

At 4:04 of the second period in the Hurricanes/Lightning game, video review upheld the referee's call that Carolina forward Eric Staal's centering pass deflected off Tampa defenseman Eric Brewer's skate but did not completely cross the Tampa goal line. No Goal Carolina.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.20.2013 / 9:41 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHI @ CAR - 19:59 of the Third Period

At 19:59 of the third period in the Flyers/Hurricanes game, video review determined that Philadelphia forward Matt Read used his right skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.20.2013 / 8:31 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ MTL - 7:50 of the Second Period

At 7:50 of the second period in the Capitals/Canadiens game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Nicklas Backstrom's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.20.2013 / 4:48 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYI @ WPG - End of Second Period

At the end of the second period in the Islanders/Jets game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Kyle Wellwood's shot crossed the goal line after the second period had expired. No Goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.18.2013 / 8:52 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NJ @ PHI - 9:04 of the Second Period

At 9:04 of the second period in the Devils/Flyers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Philadelphia forward Jakub Voracek used his right skate to kick the puck into the Devils net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.18.2013 / 8:34 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ STL - 9:58 of the First Period

At 9:58 of the first period in the Coyotes/Blues game, David Backes shot was deflected into the net by David Perron's stick. The referees on the ice determined that Perron's stick was below the level of the crossbar when he deflected the puck. The Toronto Situation room reviewed the play and was inconclusive so the ruling on the ice stands. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal St Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.16.2013 / 8:16 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ OTT - 15:37 of the First Period

At 15:37 of the first period in the Hurricanes/Senators game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Tuomo Ruutu of the Carolina Hurricanes kicked the puck into the net with his right skate. No Goal Carolina.

According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.15.2013 / 11:47 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

SJS @ PHX - 16:01 of the Second Period

At 16:01 of the second period in the Sharks/Coyotes game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Joe Pavelski's shot completely crossed the goal line before the net was displaced. Good Goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.14.2013 / 12:28 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ LAK - 4:54 of the Second Period

At 4:54 of the second period in the Ducks/Kings game, video review determined that Anaheim forward Bobby Ryan kicked the puck into the net with his left leg. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.13.2013 / 10:28 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CGY @ EDM - 5:46 of the First Period

At 5:46 of the first period in the Flames/Oilers game, video review determined that Edmonton forward Nail Yakupov used his right skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Edmonton.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 04.12.2013 / 11:20 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ CHI - Shootout

In the Red Wings/Blackhawks shootout, video review determined that Chicago defenseman Michal Rozsival's shot hit the post and did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 04.12.2013 / 10:27 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DAL @ NSH - 13:02 of the Third Period

At 13:02 of the third period in the Stars/Predators game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Rich Clune used his skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 04.12.2013 / 9:44 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ CGY - 19:04 of the First Period

At 19:04 of the first period in the Coyotes/Flames game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Jiri Hudler's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 04.12.2013 / 7:43 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

STL @ CBJ - 14:32 of the First Period

At 14:32 of the first period in the Blues/Blue Jackets game, video review was inconclusive in determining whether Adrian Aucoin's shot was deflected by Cam Atkinson above the crossbar. Therefore, the referee's call on the ice stands. Good Goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.11.2013 / 7:51 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PIT @ TB - 4:07 of the First Period

At 4:07 of the first period in the Penguins/Lightning game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Brenden Morrow's centering pass deflected off Jussi Jokinen's right skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 04.10.2013 / 10:26 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ CGY - 17:21 of the First Period

At 17:21 of the first period in the Canucks/Flames game, video review determined that Alexandre Burrows of the Vancouver Canucks was the last player to make contact with the puck before Dennis Wideman of the Calgary Flames pushed the puck into the Calgary net. Good Goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.09.2013 / 9:17 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ TBL - 17:52 of the Second Period

At 17:52 of the second period in the Senators/Lightning game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Kyle Turris deflected the puck into the net with a high stick. No Goal Ottawa.

According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.09.2013 / 9:00 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ MTL - 9:33 of the Second Period

At 9:33 of the second period in the Capitals/Canadiens game, video review determined that Washington Capitals forward Jack Hillen's shot deflected off Carey Price's blocker and into the net. Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.09.2013 / 8:13 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ TBL - 14:29 of the First Period

At 14:29 of the first period in the Senators/Lightning game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Daniel Alfredsson knocked the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar.

According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.09.2013 / 7:25 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHI @ NYI - 6:28 of the First Period

At 6:28 of the first period in the Flyers/Islanders game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Jakub Voracek's shot completely crossed the goal line before the net became displaced. Good Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.08.2013 / 11:45 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ VAN - 19:58 of the Second Period

At 19:58 of the second period in the Coyotes/Canucks game, video review determined that Henrik Sedin used his skate to kick the puck into the net. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.08.2013 / 9:24 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ BOS - 9:49 of the Third Period

At 9:49 of the third period in the Hurricanes/Bruins game, video review determined that Eric Staal used his left skate to kick the puck into the net before the puck completely crossed the goal line. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Carolina.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.08.2013 / 8:35 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ TOR - 14:55 of the Second Period

At 14:55 of the second period in the Rangers/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Rick Nash's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal New York.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.08.2013 / 8:15 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ BOS - 3:57 of the Second Period

At 3:57 of the second period in the Hurricanes/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Andrew Ference's body and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Boston

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.07.2013 / 7:35 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ FLA - 15:49 of the Second Period

At 15:49 of the second period in the Senators/Panthers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Ottawa forward Kyle Turris' shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.07.2013 / 5:46 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DAL @ SJ - 15:31 of the Second Period

At 15:31 of the second period in the Stars/Sharks game, video review conclusively determined that San Jose defenseman Marc-Edouard Vlasic's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.06.2013 / 4:50 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHI @ WPG - 14:44 of the Second Period

At 14:44 of the second period in the Flyers/Jets game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Evander Kane's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
Posted On Friday, 04.05.2013 / 9:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ PIT - 15:08 of the Third Period

At 15:08 of the third period in the Rangers/Penguins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Derick Brassard's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal New York.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.04.2013 / 10:12 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ NSH - 6:42 of the Third Period

At 6:42 of the third period in the Blue Jackets/Predators game, video review determined that Columbus forward Matt Calvert used his right skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net.". No Goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 04.04.2013 / 7:46 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TB @ CAR - 19:23 of the First Period

At 19:23 of the first period in the Lightning/Hurricanes game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Carolina forward Alexander Semin used his right skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Carolina.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.02.2013 / 10:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

COL @ NSH - 8:23 of the Third Period

At 8:23 of the third period in the Avalanche/Predators game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Nashville's goal stands after the puck went into the Colorado net off of Matt Duchene's skate. Good Goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.02.2013 / 9:03 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ BOS - 2:46 of the Second Period

At 2:46 of the second period in the Senators/Bruins game, video review determined that Andre Benoit's shot earlier in the play completely crossed the goal line. The time on the clock was reset to 1:55 of the second period, reflecting the time of the goal. Good Goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.01.2013 / 11:55 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ SJS - 9:54 of the Second Period

At 9:54 of the second period in the Canucks/Sharks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off San Jose forward Logan Couture's skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.28.2013 / 11:10 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ EDM - 17:33 of the Second Period

At 17:33 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Oilers game, video review determined that Columbus forward Matt Calvert used his skate to kick the puck into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.28.2013 / 10:42 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

LA @ STL - 17:17 of the Third Period

At 17:17 of the third period in the Kings/Blues game, video review upheld the referee's decision on the ice that Los Angeles forward Mike Richards shot crossed the goal line in a legal fashion. Good goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.28.2013 / 10:21 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BUF @ FLA - Shootout

In the Sabres/Panthers shootout, video review determined that Florida forward Jonathan Huberdeau's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Florida

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.28.2013 / 8:32 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ NSH - 9:33 of the First Period

At 9:33 of the first period in the Coyotes/Predators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Nashville forward Rich Clune deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar.

According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.28.2013 / 7:44 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ PIT - 18:32 of the First Period

At 18:32 of the first period in the Jets/Penguins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Pittsburgh forward James Neal's pass deflected off Evgeni Malkin's left skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.26.2013 / 9:23 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ PHI - 17:53 of the Second Period

At 17:53 of the second period in the Rangers/Flyers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Wayne Simmonds' right skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.26.2013 / 8:37 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ CAR - 16:39 of the Second Period

At 16:39 of the second period in the Jets/Hurricanes game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Alexander Burmistrov's stick below the crossbar and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good Goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.26.2013 / 12:32 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

SJS @ ANA - 10:04 of the Third Period

At 10:04 of the third period in the Sharks/Ducks game video review proved inconclusive in determining whether Martin Havlat deflected the puck into the net with a high-stick. Therefore, the referee's call on the ice that James Sheppard shot the puck into the net in a legal fashion stands. Good Goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.26.2013 / 12:24 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

SJS @ ANA - 7:56 of the Third Period

At 7:56 of the third period in the Sharks/Ducks game video review proved inconclusive, therefore the referee's call on the ice that Logan Couture deflected the puck into the net with a high-stick stands. No Goal San Jose.

According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 03.25.2013 / 9:51 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

LAK @ CHI - 19:59 of the Second Period

At 19:59 of the second period in the Kings/Blackhawks game, video review determined the puck deflected off Dwight King's skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.23.2013 / 9:14 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BOS @ TOR - 1:34 of the Third Period

At 1:34 of the third period in the Bruins/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Toronto forward Frazer McLaren's right skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.23.2013 / 8:30 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ NSH - 9:29 of the First Period

At 9:29 of the first period in the Blue Jackets/Predators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Columbus forward RJ Umberger shot the puck into the net in a legal fashion. Good Goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.22.2013 / 10:23 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ ANA - 6:45 of the First Period

At 6:45 of the first period in the Red Wings/Ducks game, video review determined that Anaheim forward Emerson Etem propelled the puck into the net with a distinct kicking motion. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.22.2013 / 7:42 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ WPG - 8:24 of the First Period

At 8:24 of the first period in the Capitals/Jets game, video review determined that Brooks Laich's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.21.2013 / 8:49 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BOS @ OTT - 4:55 of the Second Period

At 4:55 of the second period in the Senators/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Ottawa forward Kaspars Daugavins' shot was not touched by any Senators player and went into the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Ottawa

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.21.2013 / 12:11 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CHI @ ANA - 5:57 of the Third Period

At 5:57 of the third period in the Blackhawks/Ducks game, video review determined that Chicago forward Brandon Bollig kicked the puck into the net with his right skate. No goal Chicago. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.20.2013 / 1:11 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ LAK - 11:28 of the Third Period

At 11:28 of the third period in the Coyotes/Kings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Phoenix forward Shane Doan deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar. Good Goal Phoenix. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.19.2013 / 9:24 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ NYI - 7:22 of the Third Period

At 7:22 of the third period in the Islanders/Senators game, video review determined that Keith Aucoin kicked the puck into the net with his skate. No goal New York Islanders. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.17.2013 / 12:40 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ VAN - 14:44 of the Third Period

At 14:44 of the third period in the Red Wings/Canucks game, video review determined that Pavel Datsyuk's pass deflected off Justin Abdelkader's body and into the net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.16.2013 / 10:34 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ VAN - 6:08 of the First Period

At 6:08 of the first period in the Red Wings/Canucks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Detroit forward Pavel Datsyuk's centering pass deflected off Justin Abdelkader's skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.16.2013 / 8:41 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ TOR - 10:36 of the Second Period

At 10:36 of the second period in the Jets/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Winnipeg forward Antti Miettinen deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the cross bar. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.15.2013 / 11:16 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ CGY - 1:14 of the Third Period

At 1:14 of the third period in the Predators/Flames game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Curtis Glencross' body and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 11:45 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ VAN - 13:48 of the Second Period

At 13:48 of the second period in the Predators/Canucks game, the referee on the ice ruled that Jannik Hansen's shot completely crossed the goal line, video replay reviewed the play and was inconclusive in determining if the puck completely crossed the goal line. Ruling on the ice stands. Good Goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 11:09 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ DAL - 17:08 of the Third Period

At 17:08 of the third period in the Ducks/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dallas forward Jaromir Jagr's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 10:03 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ DAL - 11:41 of the Second Period

At 11:41 of the second period in the Ducks/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dallas forward Reilly Smith's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 9:50 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ DAL - 5:07 of the Third Period

At 5:07 of the second period in the Ducks/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Anaheim forward Teemu Selanne's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.14.2013 / 9:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ CAR - 17:44 of the Third Period

At 17:44 of the third period in the Capitals/Hurricanes game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Mike Ribeiro's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 03.13.2013 / 8:57 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ MTL - 19:58 of the Second Period

At 19:58 of the second period in the Senators/Canadiens game, video review determined that Daniel Alfredsson's shot completely crossed the goal line with 1.6 seconds remaining on the clock. Good Goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.12.2013 / 9:27 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

SJS @ STL - 10:39 of the Second Period

At 10:39 of the second period in the Sharks/Blues game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that St Louis forward Patrik Berglund's pass deflected off David Perron's left skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal St Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.12.2013 / 8:19 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ MIN - 2:27 of the First Period

At 2:27 of the first period in the Ducks/Wild game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Minnesota forward Torrey Mitchell's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 03.11.2013 / 8:04 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BOS @ OTT - 9:59 of the First Period

At 9:59 of the first period in the Bruins/Senators game, video review was inconclusive in determining if Nathan Horton's shot completely crossed the goal line. Therefore, the referee's call on the ice stands, no goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.10.2013 / 10:06 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ MIN - 1:02 of the Third Period

At 1:02 of the third period in the Canucks/Wild game, video review determined the puck deflected off Henrik Sedin's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.10.2013 / 8:45 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

EDM @ CHI - 15:05 of the Second Period

At 15:05 of the second period in the Oilers/Blackhawks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Sheldon Brookbank and into the net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.09.2013 / 3:35 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ NYI - 12:43 of the Third Period

At 15:32 of the third period in the Capitals/Islanders game play was stopped after a Matt Moulson goal. However, video review determined that Jonathan Tavares' shot previously, at 12:43 of the third period, completely crossed the goal line. Therefore, only the earlier Tavares goal stands and the clock is reset back to 12:43 of the third period.

According to Rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock and penalty time clocks (if applicable)."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.08.2013 / 9:32 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ NYR - 12:53 of the Third Period

At 12:53 of the third period in the Senators/Rangers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Eric Gryba's shot hit the crossbar and did not cross the goal line. No goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.08.2013 / 8:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ FLA - 19:47 of the First Period

At 19:47 of the first period in the Jets/Panthers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off of Jonathan Huberdeau and into the net in a legal fashion, completely crossing the goal line. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 03.08.2013 / 7:52 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ FLA - 2:35 of the First Period

At 2:35 of the first period in the Jets/Panthers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Andrew Ladd's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good goal Winnipeg.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.07.2013 / 9:27 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

FLA @ WSH - 12:29 of the Third Period

At 12:29 of the third period in the Panthers/Capitals game, video review determined that Washington forward Matt Hendricks kicked the puck into the net with his right skate. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 03.07.2013 / 9:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PIT @ PHI - 7:07 of the Third Period

At 7:07 of the third period in the Penguins/Flyers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Philadelphia forward Scott Hartnell deflected the puck into the net with his stick above the cross bar. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 03.04.2013 / 10:19 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TBL @ PIT - 19:52 of the Third Period

At 19:52 of the third period in the Lightning/Penguins game, video review upheld the call on the ice that Tampa Bay forward Steven Stamkos scored in a legal fashion. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.03.2013 / 8:04 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MTL @ BOS - 11:03 of the First Period

At 11:03 of the first period in the Canadiens/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Montreal forward David Desharnais' centering pass deflected off Boston defenseman Johnny Boychuk's stick and into the Boston net. Good Goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.03.2013 / 5:21 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

STL @ DAL - 8:59 of the Third Period

At 8:59 of the third period in the Blues/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that St Louis forward Adam Cracknell kicked the puck with his left skate into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No Goal St Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.03.2013 / 4:32 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

COL @ CBJ - 12:35 of the Second Period

At 12:35 of the second period in the Avalanche/Blue Jackets game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Colorado forward PA Parenteau's point shot went into the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.02.2013 / 4:30 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NJ @ BUF - 9:24 of the Second Period

At 9:24 of the second period in the Devils/Sabres game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Steve Bernier and into the net. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.28.2013 / 11:25 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CGY @ COL - 6:34 of the Third Period

At 6:34 of the third period in the Flames/Avalanche game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected into the net off Paul Stastny's skate. Good Goal Colorado.

According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.28.2013 / 9:49 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ BOS - 3:38 of overtime

At 3:38 of overtime in the Senators/Bruins game, video review determined Patrice Bergeron's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.28.2013 / 9:08 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ NYI - 4:05 of the Third Period

At 4:05 of the third period in the Maple Leafs/Islanders game, video review determined that Lubomir Visnovsky's shot deflected off Casey Cizikas and hit the goal post but never crossed the goal line. No Goal Islanders.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.28.2013 / 8:16 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CHI @ STL - 0:12 of the First Period

At 0:12 of the first period in the Blackhawks/Blues game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Jonathan Toews skate and into the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Chicago.

According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.28.2013 / 8:07 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ NYI - 1:32 of the Second Period

At 1:32 of the second period in the Maple Leafs/Islanders game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that John Tavares deflected the puck into the net with a high stick. No Goal Islanders.

According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.27.2013 / 12:55 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

COL @ SJ - 16:41 of the Third Period

At 16:41 of the third period in the Avalanche/Sharks game, video review determined that Colorado forward Chuck Kobasew batted the puck with his stick across the goal line in a legal fashion. Good Goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.26.2013 / 8:39 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CGY @ MIN - 14:05 of the First Period

At 14:05 of the first period in the Flames/Wild game, video review conclusively determined that Minnesota forward Zach Parise's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.26.2013 / 7:38 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DAL @ CBJ - 15:00 of the First Period

At 15:00 of the first period in the Stars/Blue Jackets game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dallas forward Cody Eakin's pass deflected off Brenden Morrow's left skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.25.2013 / 10:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

EDM @ CHI - 2:24 of the Third Period

At 2:24 of the third period in the Oilers/Blackhawks game, video review determined that Chicago forward Viktor Stalberg's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 02.24.2013 / 6:34 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ DET - 15:45 of the Second Period

At 15:45 of the second period in the Canucks/Red Wings game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Detroit forward Pavel Datsyuk deflected the puck into the net with his stick above the cross bar. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.23.2013 / 8:56 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

TOR @ OTT - 19:17 of the Second Period

At 19:17 of the second period in the Maple Leafs/Senators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Eric Gryba's initial shot deflected into the net in a legal fashion. Good Goal Ottawa.  

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.23.2013 / 8:43 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ MTL - 13:36 of the Second Period

At 13:36 of the second period in the Rangers/Canadiens game, video review concluded that Alex Galchenyuk's shot went into the net in a legal fashion. The referee's call on the ice stands. Good Goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.20.2013 / 10:09 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHI @ PIT - 14:21 of the Third Period

At 14:21 of the third period in the Flyers/Penguins game, video review determined that Pittsburgh Penguins' forward Chris Kunitz propelled the puck into the net with a distinct kicking motion. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.20.2013 / 7:56 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHI @ PIT - 5:27 of the First period

At 5:27 in the first period of the Flyers/Penguins game, video review was inconclusive in determining if the shot by Pittsburgh forward Evgeni Malkin crossed the goal line. Call on the ice stands, no goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.19.2013 / 11:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ CHI - Shootout

In the shootout in the Canucks/Blackhawks game, upon consultation on the ice the officials ruled that Patrick Kane's shot crossed the goal line and video review upheld that call. Good Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.19.2013 / 10:12 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ CHI - 18:39 of the Second Period

At 18:39 of the second period in the Canucks/Blackhawks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Vancouver defenseman Dan Hamhuis' shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Vancouver.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.19.2013 / 8:38 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ NSH - 11:42 of the First Period

At 11:42 of the first period in the Red Wings/Predators game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Nashville defenseman Shea Weber's shot hit the cross bar and the puck never crossed the goal line in the subsequent scrum. No Goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.18.2013 / 10:19 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ ANA - 3:30 of the First Period

At 3:30 of the first period in the Blue Jackets/Ducks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Columbus forward Vinny Prospal put the puck in the net in a legal fashion. Good Goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 02.17.2013 / 7:29 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BOS @ WPG - 10:57 of the Second Period

At 10:57 of the second period in the Bruins/Jets game video review proved inconclusive, therefore the referee's call on the ice that Tyler Seguin tipped the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar stands. Good Goal Boston.

According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 02.17.2013 / 6:37 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ MIN - 13:59 of the First Period

At 13:59 of the first period in the Red Wings/Wild game, video review supported the referee's decision on the ice that Tomas Tatar's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.16.2013 / 9:18 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ TOR - 8:32 of the Third Period

At 8:32 of the third period in the Senators/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Maple Leafs defenceman Dion Phaneuf's shot deflected off Tyler Bozak's skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.14.2013 / 8:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYI @ NYR - 11:14 of the Second Period

At 11:14 of the second period in the Islanders/Rangers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Carl Hagelin's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.12.2013 / 10:19 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MTL @ TBL - 18:17 of the Third Period

At 18:17 of the third period in the Canadiens/Lightning, the referee ruled on the ice that Tampa Bay forward Ted Purcell's clearing pass deflected off Victor Hedman and into the net in a legal fashion. Video review was inconclusive. Good Goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.12.2013 / 10:14 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ PHI - 4:17 of the Third Period

At 4:17 of the third period in the Flyers/Jets game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Philadelphia forward Jakub Voracek's shot deflected off Tye McGinn and into the net. Good Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.12.2013 / 10:09 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ CHI - 10:45 of the Second Period

At 10:45 of the second period in the Ducks/Blackhawks game, video review determined that Chicago forward Brandon Saad's shot crossed the goal line before the net came completely off its pegs. According to rule 78.4 "The flexible pegs could be bent, but as long as at least a portion of the flexible pegs are still in the hole in the ice and the goal post, the goal frame shall be deemed to be in its proper position. The goal frame could be raised somewhat on one post (or both), but as long as the flexible pegs are still in contact with the holes in the ice and the goal posts, the goal frame shall not be deemed to be displaced." Good Goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.12.2013 / 9:47 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ FLA - 6:25 of the Third Period

At 6:25 of the third period in the Capitals/Panthers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Florida forward Drew Shore deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.12.2013 / 7:46 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ NJD - 15:59 of the First Period

At 15:59 of the first period in the Hurricanes/Devils game, video review conclusively determined that New Jersey forward Ilya Kovalchuk's shot crossed the goal line. Good Goal New Jersey.

Once play was whistled dead the clock was reset to 4:01 remaining in the first period. According to rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time of goal and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.11.2013 / 10:40 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ COL - 17:40 of the First Period

At 17:40 of the second period in the Coyotes/Avalanche game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Phoenix defenseman Keith Yandle's shot went off the goalpost. No Goal Phoenix.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.11.2013 / 8:27 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

SJS @ CBJ - 11:19 of the Second Period

At 11:19 of the second period in the Sharks/Blue Jackets game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Columbus forward RJ Umberger's shot never crossed the goal line. No Goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.11.2013 / 7:35 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ NYI - 13:42 of the First Period

At 13:42 of the first period in the Hurricanes/Islanders game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Carolina defenseman Jamie McBain's shot deflected off Tim Wallace's left skate and into the net. According to Rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Carolina.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 02.10.2013 / 7:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

EDM @ CBJ - 9:18 of the Second Period

At 9:18 of the second period in the Oilers/Blue Jackets game, video review proved inconclusive. Therefore, the referee's call on-ice that Jordan Eberle high-sticked the puck into the net above the height of the crossbar stands. No Goal Edmonton.

According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.09.2013 / 9:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ STL - 5:08 of the Second Period

At 5:08 of the second period in the Ducks/Blues game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the net came completely off its peg prior to the puck crossing the goal line. According to Rule 78.5 (x) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the referee when the net becomes displaced accidentally. "The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the net." No Goal St Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.07.2013 / 9:53 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MTL @ BUF - 19:58 of the Third Period

At 19:58 of the third period in the Canadiens/Sabres game, Toronto Situation Room initiated a review to determine whether the puck crossed the goal line in a legal fashion. Video review upheld the referee's decision on the ice that the puck went off Thomas Vanek's stick and in the net. Good Goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.07.2013 / 8:06 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYI @ NYR - 0:56 of the Second Period

At 0:56 of the second period in the Islanders/Rangers game, Toronto Situation Room initiated a review after observing the puck entering the net. The referee then informed the Situation Room that he had blown the play dead prior to the puck entering the net. This is not a reviewable play.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.06.2013 / 11:42 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ COL - 6:40 of the Third Period

At 6:40 of the third period in the Ducks/Avalanche game, video review proved inconclusive, therefore the referee's call on the ice that Kyle Palmieri's shot did not completely cross the goal line stands. No Goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.05.2013 / 10:00 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BUF @ OTT - 13:55 of the Third Period

At 13:55 of the third period in the Sabres/Senators game, video review determined that the puck deflected off Buffalo forward Jason Pominville's right skate into the net. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.05.2013 / 9:26 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ STL - 10:09 of the Second Period

At 10:09 of the second period in the Predators/Blues game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Nashville forward Gabriel Bourque's left skate into the net. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.05.2013 / 7:28 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PIT @ NYI - 6:16 of the First Period

At 6:16 of the first period in the Penguins/Islanders game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Pittsburgh forward Sidney Crosby's shot did not cross the goal line. No Goal Pittsburgh.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 02.05.2013 / 7:25 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ NJD - 4:24 of the First Period

At 4:24 of the first period in the Rangers/Devils game, the situation room called for a video review because the puck crossed the Devils goal line. The referee determined that he had blown his whistle after Rangers forward Rick Nash collided with the net causing it to come off the pegs but prior to the puck going into the net. According to rule 78.5 (x) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the referee when the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the net." No Goal New York.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.04.2013 / 9:22 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ TOR - 0:42 of the Third Period

At 0:42 of the third period in the Hurricanes/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Carolina defenseman Justin Faulk's shot completely crossed the goal line. Good Goal Carolina.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 02.04.2013 / 8:50 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CAR @ TOR - 18:44 of the Second Period

At 18:44 of the second period in the Hurricanes/Maple Leafs game, video review determined that Toronto forward Tyler Bozak directed the puck into the net with his right skate. According to rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.02.2013 / 8:46 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BOS @ TOR - 6:30 of the Second Period

At 6:30 of the second period in the Bruins/Maple Leafs game, the situation room initiated a review because the puck went into the Maple Leafs net. The referee was in the process of whistling the play dead following the incidental contact between Brad Marchand and James Reimer and prior to the puck entering the net because Reimer was unable to play his position following the contact. This is not a reviewable play.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.02.2013 / 8:37 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ TBL - 13:04 of the Second Period

At 13:04 of the second period in the Rangers/Lightning game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Tampa Bay forward B.J. Crombeen batted the puck with his stick above the crossbar into the net. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No Goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 02.01.2013 / 8:23 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT @ CAR - 8:43 of the Second Period

At 8:43 of the Second Period in the Senators/Hurricanes game video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Jeff Skinner's shot hit the crossbar but did not cross the goal line. No Goal Carolina.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.31.2013 / 10:05 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ FLA - 15:29 of the Third Period

At 15:29 of the Third Period in the Jets/Panthers game video review determined Jonathan Huberdeau's shot went of a Jets player and across the goal line before the net came of it's pegs. Good Goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.31.2013 / 8:35 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BUF @ BOS - 16:45 of the Second Period

At 16:46 of the Second Period in the Sabres/Bruins game video review determined the puck deflected of the blade of Thomas Vanek's stick and across the goal line. Good Goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 01.30.2013 / 9:17 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MTL @ OTT - 1:02 of the Third Period

At 1:02 of the third period in the Canadiens/Senators game video review upheld the referee's call on-ice that Lars Eller directed the puck into the net with a high stick. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." No Goal Montreal.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.29.2013 / 9:59 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

Bruins/Devils Shootout

During the Boston/New Jersey shootout an object was thrown onto the ice during Bruins forward Tyler Seguin's successful shootout attempt. However, the referee ruled that the player would reshoot because the object interfered with Devils goaltender Johan Hedberg during the shot. According to rule 24.4 "If, while the penalty shot is being taken, a spectator throws any object onto the ice or, in the judgment of the Referee, interferes with the player taking the shot or the goalkeeper defending the shot, he shall permit the shot be taken again."

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.29.2013 / 9:42 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ MIN - 15:23 of the Second Period

At 15:23 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Wild game, video review determined that Minnesota forward Zach Parise batted the puck into the net with his right arm. According to rule 78.5 (i) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick." No Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.29.2013 / 8:49 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

FLA @ TBL - 3:18 of the Second Period

At 3:18 of the second period in the Panthers/Lightning game, video review upheld the referee's decision on the ice that Tampa forward Dana Tyrell's cross-ice pass deflected off Tom Pyatt and into the net. Good Goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 01.27.2013 / 10:34 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MIN @ STL - 15:52 of the Third Period

At 15:52 of the third period in the Wild/Blues game, video review proved inconclusive, therefore the referee's call on the ice that Minnesota Wild forward Dany Heatley deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar stands. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 01.27.2013 / 9:42 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

VAN @ SJ - 14:27 of the Second Period

At 14:27 of the second period in the Canucks/Sharks game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Patrick Marleau's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 01.27.2013 / 9:38 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

MIN @ STL - 14:40 of the 2nd Period

At 14:40 of the second period in the Wild/Blues game, video review determined that Mikko Koivu's shot crossed the goal line. Good Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 01.27.2013 / 7:18 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NJ @ MTL - 3:26 of the Second Period

At 3:26 of the second period in the Devils/Canadiens game, video review proved inconclusive, therefore the referee's call on the ice that New Jersey forward Patrik Elias deflected the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar stands. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 01.26.2013 / 10:24 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

EDM @ CGY - 5:16 of the First Period

At 5:16 of the first period in the Oilers/Flames game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck went off Calgary forward Mikael Backlund's stick into the net. Good Goal Calgary.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 01.25.2013 / 10:00 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

OTT vs. TBL - 5:25 of Third Period

At 5:25 of the third period in the Senators/Lightning game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Chris Neil's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Senators.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 01.25.2013 / 8:14 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYI v@ BOS - 0:19 of Second Period

At 0:19 of the second period in the Islanders/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Matt Moulson's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Islanders.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 01.25.2013 / 7:49 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYI @ BOS - 17:57 of first period

At 17:57 of the first period in the Islanders/Bruins game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Tyler Seguin's shot did not completely cross the goal line. No Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 01.25.2013 / 12:37 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

Edmonton Disallowed Goal - 18:55 3rd Period

At the General Managers direction (March 13, 2012) a procedural change was requested to ensure that all available information at ice level is exchanged prior to the awarding of a goal. Following the scoring of a goal where there was traffic and action in the area of the crease and goalie interference may come into play all four officials are to come together in the referees crease. Once in the crease the team is to communicate all possible information in determining the validity of the goal. The down low ref is still to make a goal or no goal signal on the play and then meet with his colleagues if there was contact and action involving the goalie to discuss the play.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 01.24.2013 / 8:33 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ PHI at 11:53 of the second period

At 11:53 of the second period in the Rangers/Flyers game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Philadelphia defenseman Nicklas Grossman's shot deflected off Wayne Simmond's skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.22.2013 / 8:23 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NSH @ MIN - 6:02 of the First Period

At 6:02 of the first period in the Predators/Wild game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Minnesota forward Zach Parise tipped the puck into the net with his stick below the crossbar. According to Rule 60.5 "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. If the puck makes contact with the stick below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 01.22.2013 / 7:31 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WPG @ WSH - 10:02 of the First Period

At 10:02 of the first period in the Jets/Capitals game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Washington forward Matt Hendricks right skate and into the net. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 01.21.2013 / 11:12 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ CGY - 4:02 of the Third Period

At 4:02 of the third period in the Ducks/Flames game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Anaheim forward Daniel Winnik's right skate and into the net. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 01.21.2013 / 10:49 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

DET @ CBJ - Shootout

In the first shot of the Blue Jackets/Red Wings shootout, video review determined that Columbus forward Cam Atkinson shot the puck twice with his stick on his shootout attempt that crossed the goal line. According to rule 24.2 "No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete." No goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 01.21.2013 / 10:11 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

BUF @ TOR - 18:43 of the Third Period

At 18:43 of the third period in the Sabres/Maple Leafs game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Toronto forward Joffrey Lupul directed the puck into the net with his left glove. According to rule 67.6 "a goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net." No goal Toronto.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 01.21.2013 / 9:27 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

ANA @ CGY - 7:23 of the First Period

At 7:23 of the first period in the Ducks/Flames game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Anaheim forward Saku Koivu's shot hit the upper part of the inside of the net crossing the goal line. Good goal Anaheim.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 01.21.2013 / 12:14 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

CHI @ PHX - 0:14 of the Third Period

At 0:14 of the third period in the Blackhawks/Coyotes game, video review upheld the call on the ice that the original shot by Chicago's Marian Hossa completely crossed the goal line. Good goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 01.20.2013 / 3:11 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHI @ BUF - 16:13 of the Third Period

At 16:13 of the third period of the Flyers/Sabres game, video review determined that there was no distinct kicking motion by Buffalo forward Cody Hodgson and that his stick made contact with the puck prior to it crossing the goal line. Good goal Buffalo.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 01.19.2013 / 10:15 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

PHX @ DAL - 3:11 of the Third Period

At 3:11 of the third period in the Coyotes/Stars game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Dallas forward Cody Eakin's deflection did not cross the goalline. No Goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 01.19.2013 / 9:18 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

NYR @ BOS - 7:07 of the Third Period

At 7:07 of the third period in the Rangers/Bruins game, video review was inconclusive in determining if Boston forward David Krejci's shot crossed the goal line. Referee's call on the ice stands. No Goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 01.19.2013 / 8:17 PM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

WSH @ TBL - 1:59 of the Second Period

At 1:59 of the second period in the Capitals/Lightning game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Washington forward Joel Ward's right skate and into the net in a legal fashion. According to rule 49.2 "A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player's skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal." Good Goal Washington.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 01.19.2013 / 9:00 AM

NHL.com - 2012-2013 Situation Room blog

Get the scoop from Toronto

You have arrived at the Situation Room Blog -- the place you want to be every night of the 2012-13 season.

Starting tonight, NHL.com reports instantly from inside the League's Hockey Operations situation room in Toronto, where Hockey Ops reviews and decides disputed goals.

Plus, find out the "why" behind those calls. You get the NHL's official ruling first -- here at the Situation Room Blog.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7-12 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

We want to make sure that whoever makes our team really makes our team by earning it and not putting them in situations where they get preference because of their status as a first-round pick or whatever it might be. That's not going to happen. Everybody has to earn their way on our team.

— Columbus Blue Jackets general manager Jarmo Kekalainen on the team's prospects at development camp