We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword

NHL Most Valuable Player

The Hart Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season. The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the NHL in 1923 by Dr. David A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens. Wayne Gretzky won the award a record nine times during his career, eight consecutively. Gretzky and his Edmonton Oilers teammate Mark Messier are the only players to win the Hart Trophy with more than one team. In 1990, Mark Messier took the Hart over Ray Bourque by a margin of two votes, the difference being a single first-place vote. Players from the Montreal Canadiens have won the award sixteen times; players from Boston Bruins are second with twelve winners, and the Detroit Red Wings and Edmonton Oilers have seen players win the award nine times. Joe Thornton became the first Hart Trophy winner to switch clubs during his winning campaign in 2005–06 NHL season, having played for both the Boston Bruins and San Jose Sharks that year. The voting is conducted at the end of the regular season by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, and each individual voter ranks their top five candidates on a 10-7-5-3-1 points system. Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL Awards ceremony after the playoffs. The closest the voting for the Hart Trophy has ever come was in the 2001–02 season, when Jose Theodore and Jarome Iginla tied in the total voting. The tiebreaker for choosing the Hart Trophy winner in such a case is number of first-place votes: Theodore, who had 86 first-place votes to Iginla's 82, claimed it.
The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the NHL in 1923 by Dr. David A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens.
2013-2014 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins Ryan Getzlaf
2012-2013 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals Sidney Crosby
2011-2012 Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins Steven Stamkos
2010-2011 Corey Perry Anaheim Ducks
2009-2010 Henrik Sedin Vancouver Canucks Alex Ovechkin
2008-2009 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals Evgeni Malkin
2007-2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals Evgeni Malkin
2006-2007 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins Roberto Luongo
2005-2006 Joe Thornton San Jose Sharks Jaromir Jagr
2003-2004 Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay Lightning Jarome Iginla
2002-2003 Peter Forsberg Colorado Avalanche Markus Naslund
2001-2002 Jose Theodore Montréal Canadiens Jarome Iginla
2000-2001 Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche Mario Lemieux
1999-2000 Chris Pronger St. Louis Blues Jaromir Jagr
1998-1999 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins Alexei Yashin
1997-1998 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres Jaromir Jagr
1996-1997 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres Paul Kariya
1995-1996 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins Mark Messier
1994-1995 Eric Lindros Philadelphia Flyers Jaromir Jagr
1993-1994 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings Dominik Hasek
1992-1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins Doug Gilmour
1991-1992 Mark Messier New York Rangers Patrick Roy
1990-1991 Brett Hull St. Louis Blues Wayne Gretzky
1989-1990 Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers Ray Bourque
1988-1989 Wayne Gretzky Los Angeles Kings Mario Lemieux
1987-1988 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins Grant Fuhr
1986-1987 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Ray Bourque
1985-1986 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Mario Lemieux
1984-1985 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Dale Hawerchuk
1983-1984 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Rod Langway
1982-1983 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Pete Peeters
1981-1982 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Bryan Trottier
1980-1981 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Michael Liut
1979-1980 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers Marcel Dionne
1978-1979 Bryan Trottier New York Islanders Guy Lafleur
1977-1978 Guy Lafleur Montréal Canadiens Bryan Trottier
1976-1977 Guy Lafleur Montréal Canadiens Bobby Clarke
1975-1976 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers Denis Potvin
1974-1975 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers Rogatien Vachon
1973-1974 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins Bernie Parent
1972-1973 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers Phil Esposito
1971-1972 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins Kenneth Dryden
1970-1971 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins Phil Esposito
1969-1970 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins Tony Esposito
1968-1969 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins Jean Beliveau
1967-1968 Stan Mikita Chicago Blackhawks Jean Beliveau
1966-1967 Stan Mikita Chicago Blackhawks Ed Giacomin
1965-1966 Bobby Hull Chicago Blackhawks Jean Beliveau
1964-1965 Bobby Hull Chicago Blackhawks Norm Ullman
1963-1964 Jean Beliveau Montréal Canadiens Bobby Hull
1962-1963 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings Stan Mikita
1961-1962 Jacques Plante Montréal Canadiens Doug Harvey
1960-1961 Bernie Geoffrion Montréal Canadiens Johnny Bower
1959-1960 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings Bobby Hull
1958-1959 Andy Bathgate New York Rangers Gordie Howe
1957-1958 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings Andy Bathgate
1956-1957 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings Jean Beliveau
1955-1956 Jean Beliveau Montréal Canadiens Tod Sloan
1954-1955 Ted Kennedy Toronto Maple Leafs Harry Lumley
1953-1954 Al Rollins Chicago Blackhawks Red Kelly
1952-1953 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings Al Rollins
1951-1952 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings Elmer Lach
1950-1951 Milt Schmidt Boston Bruins Maurice Richard
1949-1950 Chuck Rayner New York Rangers Ted Kennedy
1948-1949 Sid Abel Detroit Red Wings Bill Durnan
1947-1948 Buddy O`Connor New York Rangers Frank Brimsek
1946-1947 Maurice Richard Montréal Canadiens Milt Schmidt
1945-1946 Max Bentley Chicago Blackhawks Gaye Stewart
1944-1945 Elmer Lach Montréal Canadiens Maurice Richard
1943-1944 Babe Pratt Toronto Maple Leafs Bill Cowley
1942-1943 Bill Cowley Boston Bruins Doug Bentley
1941-1942 Tom Anderson Brooklyn Americans Syl Apps
1940-1941 Bill Cowley Boston Bruins Dit Clapper
1939-1940 Ebbie Goodfellow Detroit Red Wings Syl Apps
1938-1939 Toe Blake Montréal Canadiens Syl Apps
1937-1938 Eddie Shore Boston Bruins Paul Thompson
1936-1937 Babe Siebert Montréal Canadiens Lionel Conacher
1935-1936 Eddie Shore Boston Bruins Hooley Smith
1934-1935 Eddie Shore Boston Bruins Charlie Conacher
1933-1934 Aurel Joliat Montréal Canadiens Lionel Conacher
1932-1933 Eddie Shore Boston Bruins Bill Cook
1931-1932 Howie Morenz Montréal Canadiens Ivan Johnson
1930-1931 Howie Morenz Montréal Canadiens Eddie Shore
1929-1930 Nels Stewart Montreal Maroons Lionel Hitchman
1928-1929 Roy Worters New York Americans Ace Bailey
1927-1928 Howie Morenz Montréal Canadiens Roy Worters
1926-1927 Herb Gardiner Montréal Canadiens Bill Cook
1925-1926 Nels Stewart Montreal Maroons Sprague Cleghorn
1924-1925 Billy Burch Hamilton Tigers Howie Morenz
1923-1924 Frank Nighbor Ottawa Senators (1917) Sprague Cleghorn