Share with your Friends

Western Conference Champion

The Clarence S. Campbell Bowl, also called the Campbell Trophy, is a trophy awarded to the Western Conference (formally the Campbell Conference) playoff champions.
The Clarence S. Campbell Bowl was donated by the NHLs clubs in recognition of the contributions and services of its namesake, the League President at the start of theModern Era expansion. Throughout its history it has been a parallel to the Prince of Wales Trophy, using the same criteria in the opposite competitive grouping. From its inception in the 1967Ð68 season through to 1973Ð74 it was awarded to the first-place finisher in the West Division during the regular season. With NHL realignment in 1974Ð75, it was given to the team with the best regular-season record in the Campbell Conference (the successor to the West Division) through the 1980Ð81 season. Beginning with the 1981Ð82 season, it switched to the Campbell Conference playoff champions, and since the 1993Ð94 season, when the Campbell Conference became the Western Conference, has gone to the Western Conference playoff champions.