Share with your Friends

Coach of the Year

The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team's success. The winner is selected in a poll among members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association at the end of the regular season. The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in 1974 to commemorate the late Jack Adams, former coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings. His lifetime dedication to hockey has served as an inspiration to all who aspire to further the game. Jacques Demers is the only coach who has won the award in consecutive seasons. Four coaches in history have won the award with 2 different teams. Jacques Lemaire, Pat Quinn, and Scotty Bowman have won the award twice, while Pat Burns is the only coach to win the award three times. The franchises with the most Jack Adams Award winners are the Philadelphia Flyers and Detroit Red Wings, with four winners, followed by the St. Louis Blues and Phoenix Coyotes with three, although the Coyotes had two winners in Winnipeg before they moved to Arizona. Bill Barber and Bruce Boudreau are the only coaches to win the award after replacing the head coach who started the season. Barber took over for Craig Ramsay during the 2000–01 season, while Boudreau replaced Glen Hanlon, a month into the 2007–08 season. The closest vote ever occurred in 2006, when the winner Lindy Ruff edged out Peter Laviolette by a single point.
The Jack Adams Award is named in honour of Jack Adams, Hall of Fame player for Toronto, Vancouver and Ottawa, and long-time coach and general manager of theDetroit Red Wings. It was first awarded at the conclusion of the 1973Ð74 regular season.
2015-2016 Barry Trotz Washington Capitals -
2014-2015 Bob Hartley Calgary Flames Mike Babcock
2013-2014 Patrick Roy Colorado Avalanche George Kingston
2012-2013 Paul MacLean Ottawa Senators Earl Ingarfield
2011-2012 Ken Hitchcock St. Louis Blues Kevin Constantine
2010-2011 Dan Bylsma Pittsburgh Penguins Ned Harkness
2009-2010 Dave Tippett Phoenix Coyotes Rick Bowness
2008-2009 Claude Julien Boston Bruins Don Blackburn
2007-2008 Bruce Boudreau Washington Capitals Guy Carbonneau
2006-2007 Alain Vigneault Vancouver Canucks Lindy Ruff
2005-2006 Lindy Ruff Buffalo Sabres Peter Laviolette
2003-2004 John Tortorella Tampa Bay Lightning Lionel Conacher
2002-2003 Jacques Lemaire Minnesota Wild Guy Charron
2001-2002 Bob Francis Phoenix Coyotes Brian Sutter
2000-2001 Bill Barber Philadelphia Flyers Jim Anderson
1999-2000 Joel Quenneville St. Louis Blues Alain Vigneault
1998-1999 Jacques Martin Ottawa Senators Pat Quinn
1997-1998 Pat Burns Boston Bruins Larry Robinson
1996-1997 Ted Nolan Buffalo Sabres Jim Gardner
1995-1996 Scotty Bowman Detroit Red Wings Bob Gainey
1994-1995 Marc Crawford Quebec Nordiques Alex Curry
1993-1994 Jacques Lemaire New Jersey Devils Kevin Constantine
1992-1993 Pat Burns Toronto Maple Leafs Brian Sutter
1991-1992 Pat Quinn Vancouver Canucks Jules Dugal
1990-1991 Brian Sutter St. Louis Blues Andre Beaulieu
1989-1990 Bob Murdoch Winnipeg Jets (1979) Mike Milbury
1988-1989 Pat Burns Montréal Canadiens Dick Duff
1987-1988 Jacques Demers Detroit Red Wings Terry Crisp
1986-1987 Jacques Demers Detroit Red Wings Jack Evans
1985-1986 Glen Sather Edmonton Oilers Randy Carlyle
1984-1985 Mike Keenan Philadelphia Flyers Barry Long
1983-1984 Bryan Murray Washington Capitals Red Berenson
1982-1983 Orval Tessier Chicago Blackhawks -
1981-1982 Tom Watt Winnipeg Jets (1979) -
1980-1981 Red Berenson St. Louis Blues Bob Berry
1979-1980 Pat Quinn Philadelphia Flyers Jules Dugal
1978-1979 Al Arbour New York Islanders Fred Shero
1977-1978 Bobby Kromm Detroit Red Wings Don Cherry
1976-1977 Scotty Bowman Montréal Canadiens Bob Gainey
1975-1976 Don Cherry Boston Bruins -
1974-1975 Bob Pulford Los Angeles Kings Bill Barber
1973-1974 Fred Shero Philadelphia Flyers -