Share with your Friends

Top Defensive Forward in the NHL

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is an annual award given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season. The trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1977–78 NHL season. It was named after Frank J. Selke, former general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens. The Selke Trophy was the fifth and last of the major NHL awards to be introduced that have been named after General Managers and owners of the Original Six teams, the other awards being the Art Ross Trophy, James Norris Trophy, Conn Smythe Trophy, and Jack Adams Award. The first recipient was Bob Gainey of the Canadiens, who won the trophy the first four years it was given, and to date he has won it more times than any other player. Players from the Montreal Canadiens have won the trophy the most times, a total of 7 times, though these 7 trophies were amassed by only two players. Bob Gainey has won the most, winning it four times while Guy Carbonneau and Jere Lehtinen have each won it three times. During the late 90's, Lehtinen and Carbonneau both played on the Dallas Stars, under then GM, Bob Gainey. The team with the most different winners is the Detroit Red Wings, as Sergei Fedorov (twice), Steve Yzerman, Kris Draper, and Pavel Datsyuk have combined for five Selke award trophies, all wins coming since 1994.
The Selke Trophy was presented to the National Hockey League in 1977 by the Board of Governors of the NHL in honor of Frank J. Selke, one of the great architects of NHL championship teams.
2014-2015 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins
2013-2014 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins Anze Kopitar
2012-2013 Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks Patrice Bergeron
2011-2012 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins David Backes
2010-2011 Ryan Kesler Vancouver Canucks Jonathan Toews
2009-2010 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings Ryan Kesler
2008-2009 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings Mike Richards
2007-2008 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings John Madden
2006-2007 Rod Brind'Amour Carolina Hurricanes Samuel Pahlsson
2005-2006 Rod Brind'Amour Carolina Hurricanes Jere Lehtinen
2003-2004 Kris Draper Detroit Red Wings John Madden
2002-2003 Jere Lehtinen Dallas Stars John Madden
2001-2002 Michael Peca New York Islanders Craig Conroy
2000-2001 John Madden New Jersey Devils Joe Sakic
1999-2000 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings Michal Handzus
1998-1999 Jere Lehtinen Dallas Stars Magnus Arvedson
1997-1998 Jere Lehtinen Dallas Stars Michael Peca
1996-1997 Michael Peca Buffalo Sabres Peter Forsberg
1995-1996 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings Ron Francis
1994-1995 Ron Francis Pittsburgh Penguins Esa Tikkanen
1993-1994 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings Doug Gilmour
1992-1993 Doug Gilmour Toronto Maple Leafs David Poulin
1991-1992 Guy Carbonneau Montréal Canadiens Sergei Fedorov
1990-1991 Dirk Graham Chicago Blackhawks Esa Tikkanen
1989-1990 Richard Meagher St. Louis Blues Guy Carbonneau
1988-1989 Guy Carbonneau Montréal Canadiens Esa Tikkanen
1987-1988 Guy Carbonneau Montréal Canadiens Stephen Kasper
1986-1987 David Poulin Philadelphia Flyers Guy Carbonneau
1985-1986 Troy Murray Chicago Blackhawks Ronald Sutter
1984-1985 Craig Ramsay Buffalo Sabres Doug Jarvis
1983-1984 Doug Jarvis Washington Capitals Bryan Trottier
1982-1983 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers Jari Kurri
1981-1982 Stephen Kasper Boston Bruins Robert Gainey
1980-1981 Robert Gainey Montréal Canadiens Craig Ramsay
1979-1980 Robert Gainey Montréal Canadiens Craig Ramsay
1978-1979 Robert Gainey Montréal Canadiens Donald Marcotte
1977-1978 Robert Gainey Montréal Canadiens Craig Ramsay