Share with your Friends

Most Outstanding Player as Selected by the NHLPA

The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association. The award was first handed out at the conclusion of the 1971–72 NHL season. It honors Hall of Famer Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association. The players' accolade will continue to be presented annually to the "Most Outstanding Player" in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. Wayne Gretzky won the award five times during his career. Members of the Pittsburgh Penguins have won the award the most number of times, with seven winners, followed by the Edmonton Oilers, with six winners. The Lindsay Award is considered to be the companion of the Hart Memorial Trophy—thirteen players have won both trophies for the same season: Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Mark Messier, Brett Hull, Sergei Fedorov, Eric Lindros, Dominik Hasek, Jaromir Jagr, Joe Sakic, Martin St. Louis, Sidney Crosby and Alexander Ovechkin. Of those thirteen, only Lafleur, Gretzky, Lemieux, Jagr, St. Louis, Crosby, and Ovechkin have also won the Art Ross Trophy for the same season and completed a Hart-Pearson-Art Ross sweep.
The award was first presented in 1970-71 by the NHLPA in honor of the late Lester B. Pearson, former Prime Minister of Canada.
2015-2016 Patrick Kane Chicago Blackhawks
2014-2015 Carey Price Montréal Canadiens
2013-2014 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2012-2013 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2011-2012 Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins
2010-2011 Daniel Sedin Vancouver Canucks
2009-2010 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2008-2009 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2007-2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2006-2007 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2005-2006 Jaromir Jagr New York Rangers
2003-2004 Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay Lightning
2002-2003 Markus Naslund Vancouver Canucks
2001-2002 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames
2000-2001 Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche
1999-2000 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1998-1999 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1997-1998 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1996-1997 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1995-1996 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1994-1995 Eric Lindros Philadelphia Flyers
1993-1994 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings
1992-1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1991-1992 Mark Messier New York Rangers
1990-1991 Brett Hull St. Louis Blues
1989-1990 Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers
1988-1989 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
1987-1988 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1986-1987 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1985-1986 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1984-1985 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1983-1984 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1982-1983 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1981-1982 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1980-1981 Michael Liut St. Louis Blues
1979-1980 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles Kings
1978-1979 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles Kings
1977-1978 Guy Lafleur Montréal Canadiens
1976-1977 Guy Lafleur Montréal Canadiens
1975-1976 Guy Lafleur Montréal Canadiens
1974-1975 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1973-1974 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers
1972-1973 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1971-1972 Jean Ratelle New York Rangers
1970-1971 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins