Share with your Friends

Outstanding Service to Hockey in the United States

The Lester Patrick Trophy is an award to honor the players contribution to ice hockey in the United States. It may be awarded to players, coaches, officials, and other personnel outside the NHL.
The Lester Patrick Trophy was presented by the New York Rangers in 1966. It honors the late Lester Patrick, who was a general manager and coach of the club. It is presented annually for "outstanding service to hockey in the United States". Players, coaches, referees, and executives are eligible to receive the trophy. The winners are chosen by a committee consisting various officials, including the Commissioner (previously President) of the NHL, an NHL Governor, a representative of the New York Rangers, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Builders section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Players section, a member of the U. S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.
2010-2011Mark Johnson
Jeff Sauer
Tony Rossi
Bob Pulford
2009-2010Dave Andrews
Cam Neely
Jack Parker
Jerry York
2008-2009 Mark Messier
Jim Devellano
Mike Richter
2007-2008 Brian Burke
Phil Housley
Bob Naegele Jr.
Ted Lindsay
2006-2007 Brian Leetch
Cammi Granato
John Halligan
Stan Fischler
2005-2006 Red Berenson
Marcel Dionne
Glen Sonmor
Reed Larson
Steve Yzerman
2003-2004 John Davidson
Mike Emrick
Ray Miron
2002-2003 Ray Bourque
Ron DeGregorio
Willie O'Ree
2001-2002Herb Brooks
Larry Pleau
1960 U.S. Olympic Team
2000-2001Gary Bettman
Scotty Bowman
David Poile
1999-2000 Mario Lemieux
Craig Patrick
Lou Vairo
1998-1999Harry Sinden
1998 U.S. Olympic Women's Team
1997-1998 Neal Broten
Peter Karmanos
Max McNab
John Mayasich
1996-1997Bill Cleary
Seymour H. Knox III
Pat LaFontaine
1995-1996George Gund
Milt Schmidt
Ken Morrow
1994-1995 Robert Fleming
Brian Mullen
Joe Mullen
1993-1994 Wayne Gretzky
Robert Ridder
1992-1993 Frank Boucher
Red Dutton
Gil Stein
Bruce McNall
1991-1992 Al Arbour
Art Berglund
Lou Lamoriello
1990-1991 Rod Gilbert
Mike Ilitch
1989-1990Len Ceglarski
1988-1989Dan Kelly
Lou Nanne
Lynn Patrick
Bud Poile
1987-1988 Keith Allen
Bob Johnson
Fred Cusick
1986-1987Hobey Baker
Frank Mathers
1985-1986John MacInnes
Jack Riley
1984-1985Jack Butterfield
Arthur M. Wirtz
1983-1984 Art Ross
John A. Ziegler Jr.
1982-1983Bill Torrey
1981-1982 Emile Francis
1980-1981Charles M. Schulz
1979-1980 Bobby Clarke
Fred Shero
1980 U.S. Olympic Team
Edward M. Snider
1978-1979 Bobby Orr
1977-1978 Phil Esposito
Tom Fitzgerald
William T. Tutt
William W. Wirtz
1976-1977 Murray Armstrong
John Mariucci
John Bucyk
1975-1976George A. Leader
Bruce A. Norris
Stan Mikita
1974-1975William L. Chadwick
Thomas N. Ivan
Donald M. Clark
1973-1974Weston W. Adams Sr.
Alex Delvecchio
Charles L. Crovat
Murray Murdoch
1972-1973Walter L. Bush Jr.
1971-1972Clarence S. Campbell
James D. Norris
John A. "Snooks" Kelly
Ralph "Cooney" Weiland
1970-1971 Bill Jennings
John B. Sollenberger
Terry Sawchuk
1969-1970James C. V. Hendy
Eddie Shore
1968-1969 Bobby Hull
Edward J. Jeremiah
1967-1968Walter A. Brown
Thomas F. Lockhart
Gen. John R. Kilpatrick
1966-1967Charles F. Adams
James Norris Sr.
Gordie Howe
1965-1966 Jack Adams