Share with your Friends

NHL Champion

The Stanley Cup (French: La Coupe Stanley) is an ice hockey club trophy, awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) playoffs champion. The Stanley Cup, topped with a copy of the original bowl, is made of silver and nickel alloy. It has the name of the winning players, coaches, management, and club staff engraved on its chalice each year. The Cup winning team also gets to keep the Cup until a new champion is crowned the following year.
It all started on March 18, 1892, at a dinner of the Ottawa Amateur Athletic Association. Lord Kilcoursie, a player on the Ottawa Rebels hockey club from Government House, delivered the following message on behalf of Lord Stanley, the Earl of Preston and Governor General of Canada -- "I have for some time been thinking that it would be a good thing if there were a challenge cup which should be held from year to year by the champion hockey team in the Dominion (of Canada). There does not appear to be any such outward sign of a championship at present, and considering the general interest which matches now elicit, and the importance of having the game played fairly and under rules generally recognized, I am willing to give a cup which shall be held from year to year by the winning team." -- Shortly thereafter, Lord Stanley purchased a silver cup measuring 7.5 inches high by 11.5 inches across for the sum of 10 guineas (approximately $50); appointed two Ottawa gentlemen, Sheriff John Sweetland and Philip D. Ross, as trustees of that cup. The first winner of the Stanley Cup was the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association (AAA) hockey club, champions of the Amateur Hockey Association of Canada for 1893. Ironically, Lord Stanley never witnessed a championship game nor attended a presentation of his trophy, having returned to his native England in the midst of the 1893 season. Nevertheless, the quest for his trophy has become one of the worlds most prestigious sporting competitions.
2015-2016Pittsburgh Penguins San Jose Sharks
2014-2015Chicago Blackhawks Tampa Bay Lightning
2013-2014Los Angeles Kings New York Rangers
2012-2013Chicago Blackhawks Boston Bruins
2011-2012Los Angeles Kings New Jersey Devils
2010-2011Boston Bruins Vancouver Canucks
2009-2010Chicago Blackhawks Philadelphia Flyers
2008-2009Pittsburgh Penguins Detroit Red Wings
2007-2008Detroit Red Wings Pittsburgh Penguins
2006-2007Anaheim Ducks Ottawa Senators
2005-2006Carolina Hurricanes Edmonton Oilers
2003-2004Tampa Bay Lightning St. Louis Blues
2002-2003New Jersey Devils Anaheim Ducks
2001-2002Detroit Red Wings Carolina Hurricanes
2000-2001Colorado Avalanche New Jersey Devils
1999-2000New Jersey Devils Dallas Stars
1998-1999Dallas Stars Buffalo Sabres
1997-1998Detroit Red Wings Washington Capitals
1996-1997Detroit Red Wings Philadelphia Flyers
1995-1996Colorado Avalanche Florida Panthers
1994-1995New Jersey Devils Detroit Red Wings
1993-1994New York Rangers Vancouver Canucks
1992-1993Montréal Canadiens Los Angeles Kings
1991-1992Pittsburgh Penguins Chicago Blackhawks
1990-1991Pittsburgh Penguins Minnesota North Stars
1989-1990Edmonton Oilers Boston Bruins
1988-1989Calgary Flames Montréal Canadiens
1987-1988Edmonton Oilers Boston Bruins
1986-1987Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers
1985-1986Montréal Canadiens Calgary Flames
1984-1985Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers
1983-1984Edmonton Oilers New York Islanders
1982-1983New York Islanders Edmonton Oilers
1981-1982New York Islanders Vancouver Canucks
1980-1981New York Islanders Minnesota North Stars
1979-1980New York Islanders Philadelphia Flyers
1978-1979Montréal Canadiens New York Rangers
1977-1978Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1976-1977Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1975-1976Montréal Canadiens Philadelphia Flyers
1974-1975Philadelphia Flyers Buffalo Sabres
1973-1974Philadelphia Flyers Boston Bruins
1972-1973Montréal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1971-1972Boston Bruins New York Rangers
1970-1971Montréal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1969-1970Boston Bruins St. Louis Blues
1968-1969Montréal Canadiens St. Louis Blues
1967-1968Montréal Canadiens St. Louis Blues
1966-1967Toronto Maple Leafs Montréal Canadiens
1965-1966Montréal Canadiens Detroit Red Wings
1964-1965Montréal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1963-1964Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1962-1963Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1961-1962Toronto Maple Leafs Chicago Blackhawks
1960-1961Chicago Blackhawks Detroit Red Wings
1959-1960Montréal Canadiens Toronto Maple Leafs
1958-1959Montréal Canadiens Toronto Maple Leafs
1957-1958Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1956-1957Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1955-1956Montréal Canadiens Detroit Red Wings
1954-1955Detroit Red Wings Montréal Canadiens
1953-1954Detroit Red Wings Montréal Canadiens
1952-1953Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1951-1952Detroit Red Wings Montréal Canadiens
1950-1951Toronto Maple Leafs Montréal Canadiens
1949-1950Detroit Red Wings New York Rangers
1948-1949Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1947-1948Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1946-1947Toronto Maple Leafs Montréal Canadiens
1945-1946Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1944-1945Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1943-1944Montréal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1942-1943Detroit Red Wings Boston Bruins
1941-1942Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1940-1941Boston Bruins Detroit Red Wings
1939-1940New York Rangers Toronto Maple Leafs
1938-1939Boston Bruins Toronto Maple Leafs
1937-1938Chicago Blackhawks Toronto Maple Leafs
1936-1937Detroit Red Wings New York Rangers
1935-1936Detroit Red Wings Toronto Maple Leafs
1933-1934Chicago Blackhawks Detroit Red Wings
1932-1933New York Rangers Toronto Maple Leafs
1931-1932Toronto Maple Leafs New York Rangers
1930-1931Montréal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1929-1930Montréal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1928-1929Boston Bruins New York Rangers
1927-1928New York Rangers Montreal Maroons
1926-1927Ottawa Senators (1917)Boston Bruins
1925-1926Montreal MaroonsVictoria Cougars
1924-1925Victoria CougarsMontréal Canadiens
1923-1924Montréal Canadiens
1922-1923Ottawa Senators (1917)
1921-1922Toronto Saint Patricks
1920-1921Ottawa Senators (1917)
1919-1920Ottawa Senators (1917)
1917-1918Toronto Arenas