Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
Ottawa
Senators
New York
Islanders

32 SOG
30 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
OTT
NYI
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (89)
game preview

Isles' homestand continues against Sens

Saturday, 03.31.2012 / 7:12 PM

Davis Harper - NHL.com Staff Writer

Share with your Friends


Isles' homestand continues against Sens
Ottawa Senators vs. New York Islanders
SENATORS (40-28-10) at ISLANDERS (33-34-11)

TV: SNET-E (HD), TVA, MSG PLUS (HD)

Last 10: Ottawa 5-3-2; New York 5-3-2.

Season Series: This is the fourth and final meeting of the season, with all the rest played in the month of February. The Senators hold a 2-0-1 series edge, and have outscored the Isles 11-2 over the previous two meetings – including a 6-0 thrashing in the only other meeting at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum.

Big Story: Once thought a playoff certainty, the Ottawa Senators are now busy fighting for their postseason lives. Ottawa has won three straight, but its hold on the Eastern Conference's seventh position is less than secure. Ottawa leads Washington and Buffalo – both jockeying for eighth with 86 points entering Saturday's games – by only four points. However, New York won’t be an easy out. The Islanders have won five of their last seven.

Team Scope:

Senators: Following a rough mid-March run in which they lost five of six – including two to Montreal – the Senators have roared back to end the month on a high note. Thanks to high-scoring wins over Pittsburgh, Winnipeg and Philadelphia, Ottawa has once again created a measure of separation. On Saturday, Ottawa gutted out an important win in Philadelphia. The Sens jumped out to a quick 3-0 lead before conceding three times in the second. After a scoreless third and overtime, Jason Spezza and Milan Michalek converted in the shootout for a 4-3 win. Craig Anderson, in net for all three wins, made 36 saves for the win.

"We had a momentum swing in the second period we didn't handle very well," said Anderson. "We regrouped after the second, came out in the third and played a really solid third period. That's the reason we got the point and won it in the shootout."

Islanders: The New York Islanders have known for a while that they would likely be enjoying an early summer vacation. But that hasn't stopped them from building for the future, and showing off a little bit of the present. The Isles have won five of seven over the past two weeks, including an improbable home-and-home sweep of the Pittsburgh Penguins. Call it a Sidney Crosby hangover, but the Islanders couldn't duplicate those efforts on Saturday against Boston. The Isles kept it close through two – they entered the third tied 2-2 – but Boston scored four times in the third and wound up winning, 6-3.

"They exposed us in the third," coach Jack Capuano said. "I thought the last few games we played pretty well. The power play could have been the difference tonight with the score tied and we didn't generate too many chances there."

Who's Hot: Kyle Okposo – at 23, yet another manifestation of the Isles promising young stock – has six goals in his last five games. … Spezza also had a goal in regulation Saturday, and has three goals and four assist in his last four games.

Injury Report: Ottawa goalie Ben Bishop (lower body) and center Peter Regin (left shoulder surgery) will miss the remainder of the season, while Jesse Winchester (concussion) is out indefinitely. … Islander goalie Evgeni Nabokov (lower body) missed Saturday's game, and Rick DiPietro (sports hernia surgery) is out indefinitely.

Stat Pack: Though they squandered both opportunities on Saturday, the Islanders are ninth League-wide in power-play conversion at 19.2 percent. They converted man advantages in both wins against Pittsburgh, and will need to bring that opportunism into Sunday's tilt.

Puck Drop: After the game, Ottawa coach Paul MacLean told reporters how he refocused his players after a rocky second period.

"We wanted to make sure we didn't just defend, that we played to win and that we have to go out and give ourselves an opportunity to win the hockey game," he said. "To do that, we have to establish our game. We have to try to establish a forecheck, we have to dictate some of the play in their end of the rink and not just play in our end. We tried to do those things and the game went back and forth in the third again. I thought for the most part we did a good job of playing defense in their end."
2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Apr 01 '12OTT 5 at NYI 1S. Gonchar
Feb 26 '12NYI 2 at OTT 5J. O'Brien
Feb 20 '12OTT 6 at NYI 0E. Karlsson
Feb 03 '12NYI 2 at OTT 1 - OTM. Eaton
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Spezza77325082+1136102
E. Karlsson78195877+184235
M. Michalek74352560+432103
D. Alfredsson72273158+161674
N. Foligno79153146+411813
S. Gonchar7253237-25521
C. Greening79171936-44640
F. Kuba7062531+282632
C. Neil70131528-817420
K. Turris52121628+112712
Z. Smith78141226+59813
E. Condra7881624+113001
C. Phillips7751419+111641
M. Gilroy6521618+11800
J. Cowen7951217-45601
B. Butler5661016+81204
K. Daugavins635611-31201
J. Winchester29268+42200
B. Lee35178-22700
Z. Konopka55325-419311
S. Da Costa22325-9800
J. O'Brien25235+5401
P. Regin10224+3200
D. Rundblad24134-11600
M. Carkner27123+03100
R. Klinkhammer13022+0200
N. Filatov9011+1400
M. Zibanejad9011-3200
M. Borowiecki2000-1200
A. Petersson1000+0000
M. Hoffman1000-1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
C. Anderson6133-20-616018522.85.914
B. Bishop93-2-2192162.41.912
R. Lehner53-2-0101542.01.935
A. Auld142-4-2363103.35.884
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Tavares79314778-42678
M. Moulson79343367+26145
P. Parenteau78184967-68962
M. Streit7973845-254431
F. Nielsen79172744-4651
K. Okposo76212142-163432
J. Bailey77131831-112211
M. Grabner75171128-181212
T. Hamonic7022123+47310
A. MacDonald7251419-62210
M. Martin777714-1711101
B. Rolston49459-12601
M. Jurcina63279-332820
D. Ullstrom29448-2611
S. Staios63088-155100
M. Reasoner58156-242800
D. Reese26156+01100
M. Eaton61134-171001
C. Cizikas15044+1600
J. Pandolfo59123-12800
M. Mottau29022-101500
N. Niederreiter52101-271200
T. Wallace31011-7600
B. Comeau16000-11600
M. Haley11000+04500
A. Ness9000+0200
R. Rakhshani5000+0200
T. Gillies3000-1000
C. de Haan1000+1000
T. Wishart1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
E. Nabokov4219-18-310111722.55.914
A. Montoya288-9-5767512.96.899
R. DiPietro83-2-3221773.73.876
K. Poulin62-4-0151623.04.907
A. Nilsson41-2-0101122.75.911