Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Toronto
Maple Leafs
34-35-13
Calgary
Flames
46-30-6

32 SOG
32 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
TOR
CGY
game preview

Maple Leafs-Flames Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 4:51 AM

Associated Press

Share with your Friends


Maple Leafs-Flames Preview
Toronto Maple Leafs vs. Calgary Flames

It's been almost three years since the Toronto Maple Leafs took a road trip through Western Canada.

The Leafs look to build off their first victory in a week when they open the road stretch against the struggling Calgary Flames on Tuesday night.

Toronto (6-5-4) snapped a three-game losing streak with a 6-3 home victory over rival Montreal on Saturday and now heads out on a trip to Calgary, Edmonton and Vancouver. This is the Maple Leafs' first trip to Western Canada since going 1-2-0 versus the same clubs in January 2006.

Though Toronto won 5-4 in overtime over the Flames at home on Oct. 14, 2006, the Leafs have lost three in a row at Calgary, all decided by one goal, including two in overtime.

Toronto could end that road skid against the Flames (8-7-1), who have lost four of five since a six-game winning streak.

Mikhail Grabovski had a goal with an assist and linemate Niklas Hagman scored twice Saturday for the Leafs, who led 2-0 then scored three unanswered goals to snap a 3-3 tie.

"That's how we've got to play every game, come out with an edge and really take it to them," said center Matt Stajan, who had two assists. Even when they came back there, we never gave up."

Nik Antropov had a goal with two assists while Alexei Ponikarovsky and Pavel Kubina each added a goal and an assist as Toronto outshot its opponent for the 11th straight game.

Grabovski, in his first season with Toronto since being traded from Montreal, has six goals and two assists in the last four games. He leads the team with seven goals.

"He's been our best player for two weeks," coach Ron Wilson said. "He's been a dominant player."

Vesa Toskala made 17 saves against Montreal to improve 6-3-3 with a 3.08 goals-against average. He is 2-1-0 with a 1.67 GAA versus Calgary.

The Leafs will be without defenseman Mike Van Ryn after he was slammed to the boards from behind by Montreal's Tom Kostopoulos. Van Ryn suffered a concussion, a broken nose and hand and is expected to miss a month, while Kostopoulos was suspended three games for the hit.

The Flames return home after falling 6-1 at Chicago on Sunday, one night after dropping a 3-1 decision at Columbus to open the brief road swing.

Dustin Boyd scored his fourth for Calgary, which has scored one fewer goal in its last four losses combined than in its most recent win, a 7-6 victory over Nashville on Wednesday.

"We have been very inconsistent," defenseman Adrian Aucoin told the Flames' official Web site. "You look at our best games and we have been dominant. In our bad games we have been dominated."

The Flames held a team meeting Monday in an attempt to regroup after their last two contests.

"We had a meeting and we have to play like we can," said Miikka Kiprusoff, who has allowed 12 goals in his last two starts. "You have to play smart and play your system."

Kiprusoff has not been a sharp this season, going 8-6-1 with a lofty 3.33 GAA. He is 1-1-1 with a 2.99 GAA against Toronto.

Calgary captain Jarome Iginla failed to score Sunday after posting three goals in his previous two games to increase his team lead to nine. He has seven goals and seven assists in 16 career home games against the Leafs.

2008-2009 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 14 '09 CGY 6 at TOR 8 J. Mayers
Nov 11 '08 TOR 3 at CGY 4 D. Boyd
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
N. Antropov166814+7811
M. Stajan154913+51220
N. Hagman166612+2230
A. Ponikarovsky165712+61021
M. Grabovski167411-21010
T. Kaberle161910-1200
P. Kubina16369-31221
M. Van Ryn14358+1620
N. Kulemin16268-2001
D. Moore16347-41410
J. Blake14246-3610
J. Mitchell14235-4200
A. Steen16224-4610
I. White5134+3000
J. Mayers16123-72500
A. Stralman9112+2201
L. Schenn16022-31700
J. Finger9022+1200
J. Frogren9011-5600
R. Hollweg7011-32000
J. Tlusty9000-2000
C. Colaiacovo7000-2600
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
V. Toskala146-4-3443773.15.883
C. Joseph40-2-19653.91.862
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Iginla17101121-11861
T. Bertuzzi177714-91651
M. Cammalleri1641014-3621
D. Phaneuf1731013-32120
D. Langkow174812+0811
R. Bourque17369+22900
D. Boyd16628-4612
C. Conroy17358-21800
M. Giordano17077+11100
C. Glencross17246+21201
D. Moss17246+0200
A. Aucoin17224-41010
W. Primeau16044-21200
C. Sarich17123-43500
R. Regehr15033-11000
B. Prust15112-46101
E. Nystrom11112-21400
M. Lombardi7112-1201
J. Vandermeer16022-53100
A. Roy4101+11700
A. Pardy3000-2200
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
M. Kiprusoff169-6-1534773.31.889
C. McElhinney10-1-03283.00.893